SCSI termination question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SCSI termination question

I'm a real novice when it comes to SCSI, so I'm hoping this is an easy question for someone to answer.

I'm setting up a friend's computer for DV editing. The motherboard is an Asus P2B-DS (with built in SCSI card) running Win98. The boot drive is IDE, and the two SCSI capture drives are identical 18 GB Seagate Barracudas (ST118273W). There is also (usually) a SCSI scanner connected on the end of the same SCSI cable at the back of the computer. I'm not sure what to do with the termination jumpers on pins 15 and 16 on each drive. Although the instructions at the Seagate site seem to indicate that the jumpers should be removed from the "middle" drive(s), both drives have apparently always had the termination jumpers installed while in this computer. I can't vouch for how well the drives or the system have worked up to this point, never having seen it run. All I know is that each drive took over an hour for me to format which seems pretty slow!

So I actually have two questions:

1) With everything (including scanner) connected, should the termination jumpers on both drives be removed?

2) When the scanner is NOT connected (as it is now because I don't have it here), does that make a difference whether or not the drive farthest from the "host" has its termination jumper removed?

Any replies appreciated...

Re: SCSI termination question

Originally posted by Patrick

1) With everything (including scanner) connected, should the termination jumpers on both drives be removed?

The last drive in the chain should be terminated. The scanner will also need terminating.

2) When the scanner is NOT connected (as it is now because I don't have it here), does that make a difference whether or not the drive farthest from the "host" has its termination jumper removed?

The drive should should have it's terminator on.

Any replies appreciated...