Win 2k and boot.ini

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Win 2k and boot.ini

How on earth do you get win 2k to create a new boot.ini????

I have both win 98 and 2k installed with win98 on the c-drive. I recently restored a cleanboot ghost of win98 that I had resulting in that ntldr, ntdetect and boot.ini was overwritten!

I have copied back the ntldr and ntdetect and installed a new mbr for winnt so that I can get 2k to boot. Now I just need to get the boot.ini created some how.

Since I have all drive on my IDE-RAID controller and the system partition on a RAID0 setup I actually don't know which drive/partition by number the 98 or 2k lies on! It's not as easy as 2nd partition at first drive at first ide channel....

I should have remeberd to make a rescue disk before this ghost process, but I tried making one afterwards but the rescue process didn't create the boot.ini for me...

It shouldn't be that hard to get this done, right? I'm a newbie with 2k...
    My system:
    | Athlon XP2600+ 2,4GHz@200FSB| Water Cooled Processor | Samsung 2x256MB PC3200 Ram (400MHz) | Epox 8RDA mb | Hercules FDX Radeon 8500 LE 128MB | Abit Hot Rod DMA/100 RAID controller | 2*20GB IBM and Western 10.2GB @RAID controller | Soundblaster 5.1 Audigy Player | Actima 6x/32x DVD-ROM, Samsung 12x/8x/32x CDRW | Logitech Force Feedback wheel | Microsoft Sidewinder Force Feedback 2 Joystick | 550W water-cooled Q-TEC PSU | 278/278 kbit DSL internet connection | Windows 2000 Pro | My Homepage
    homemade watercooling in use,Pics on the homepage...

no more VIA, no more!

Run the emergency repair disk, it will reinstal it(oh, you forgot to make an emergency repair disk ) then stick the CD back in and run setup. When it asks you if you want to repair the win2k install, do that.

Dave
    Last edited by Helevitia; 22 November 2001, 23:46.
    Ladies and gentlemen, take my advice, pull down your pants and slide on the ice.

Comment

Not that easy...