Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

VCRs and Firewire...? I'm a video editing newbie....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VCRs and Firewire...? I'm a video editing newbie....

I just recently got my rainbow runner g and I'm using a rather crappy vcr right now. (It doesnt start recording until about 15 seconds after I push the record button, so most of my videos get cut off at the beginning.) I was wondering what VCR you guys would suggest. I'm on a relatively tight budget... (I'm still in high school.) so big expensive really cool VCRs are out of the question I guess. Also, are there any firewire cards that work fine and are cheap? I have one of those little silver sony digital cams and I'm using my RRG to grab the video. Are there any VCRs that have firewire in/out? That would be cool too.
    Thanks!

-Matt

There are DV VCR's out there but they are very expensive.

I only use JVC and Sony decks. You can get a decent JVC with 19 micron heads for < $200 USD if you shop around.

To mitigate your problem at the beginning of your tape why not use a leader clip at the start of your project? 10-15 seconds of colorbars then a 5 second clock counting down....

Dr. Mordrid

Comment

yeah i tried doing the pause-record thing, but it still did the 10 second thing. What model is the 19u JVC? I assume the smaller the number of microns, the better the head?

-Matt

Comment

I think Doc's suggestion of a 15-20 seccond "leader" is your most cost effective solution.

I believeI have the under $200 19u head JVC VCR Doc also mentioned, it was $149 at best buy just before Xmas. That said I also recently picked up a cheapo "Symphonic" $89 VCR from Best Buy. I was pleasently surprised by its playback/record quality and the fact it was stereo audio with both front and rear inputs. The JVC has much better operational controls however.