Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Best format for video-storage? MPEG2 or MPEG4?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best format for video-storage? MPEG2 or MPEG4?

Which format is the best to store videos? (When I don't need to edit them anymore)

I've heard that the new mpeg-4 is much better than mpeg-1, but what about mpeg-2? It is my impression that mpeg-2 is better at high bitrates...?

Any comments very welcome.

I agree...
    I'm just experimenting with it, I'm not an expert and I haven't any DVD, so I try to archive my videos on CD-R, and VCR.
    I found that the MPEG2 (PAL 704x576 with me)has near the captured MJPEG quality but about 1/7 of the size of the .avi.
    Tried the MPEG4 v3 but I have not enough CPU resurces for this (AMD K/2-400 + 64 Mb)
    I also tried to revert some MPEG2 files to MJPEG-.avi. It works, BUT the quality is not the best...
    The playback of the MPEG2 video from CD-R (32x NEC) it smooth, but not the MPEG4.
    I tried to play back MPEG2 files on my wifes computer (P133 32 Mb and S3 graph-card with only 2megs (!) it works, but someone at this forum reported problems with play back on a friends computer.
    Let the experts confirm it or maybe not
    It ain't over 'til the fat lady sings...
    ------------------------------------------------

Comment

I would say the new MPEG4-base DivX codec is probably the best. I fit 160 mins on one CD-R. The quality is by far the biggest bang for the byte.

Garrett
      RBryant

Tyan 1952DLU Thunder X
      2 PIII Xeon 500Mhz (512k)
      1 512MB ECC PC100 DIMM
      Adaptec AAA-133U2
      3 18 GB U2W Cheetahs
      Jaz 1GB
      UltraPlex40Xmax CDROM
      PlexWriter 8/20 CD-R
      Pioneer 6X DVDROM
      G400 Max
      Rainbow Runner-G
      Obisidan X-24
      ViewSonic P815
      SBLive!
      Cambridge Soundworks 5.1
      3COM 3C905B-TX
      Addtronics 7896 w/12 Fans
      Mitsumi Wireless RF Kbd
      Logitec Opt. Wheel Mouse
      1.5M/256k ADSL