Gaming Console for the kids.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gaming Console for the kids.

I'm looking at get my kids a gaming console for christmas this year. I don't want to spend a whole lot of money for it so that rules out the Xbox and PS2 at this time. But I do want one that can last them at least a few years and has a good selection at games. I've looked at Sega's Dreamcast. It's the cheapest but doesn't seem to have that many games. Then there in the PS1 and N-64. Both are about the same in price and have a good selection of games but I think the PS1 uses CDs while the N-64 cartridges.

So what do y'all think?

Joel

BTW Girl - 8, Boy - 5
    Libertarian is still the way to go if we truly want a real change.

www.lp.org

System Specs: AMD XP2000+ @1.68GHz(12.5x133), ASUS A7V133-C, 512MB PC133, Matrox Parhelia 128MB, SB Live! 5.1.
    Monitor: Cornerstone c1025 @ 1280x960 @85Hz.

I'm really no expert on consoles since I've never owned one, but my kids (boys 11yr & 8yr) suggest PS1 (from playing on friends). I think this Xmas I will buckle to the pressure and buy them the Xbox.
    Since your kids are still young and probably won't notice any quality differences between the Dreamcast, PS1, or N-64, I would get the one that supports the types of games your kids would most likely enjoy.
    Also, when my kids were the age of yours, I got them Gameboys -- and they actually still enjoy playing with them 3 years later.
    My rig: P4 3.0GHz; Asus P4C800E; 1GB DDR 3200; AIW Radeon 9800 Pro; WD 120GB SATA; Plextor DVD burner; Liteon DVD reader; Audigy 2ZS; Logitech Z560 4.1; NEC FE991SB

Kid's rig: AMD XP 1600+; 512MB ram; GF4 Ti4600; Maxtor 60GB; Plextor CD burner; Sony DVD reader; SB Live; Cambridge 4.1 speakers; NEC FE991SB

Other kid's rig: Athlon 2700+; ASUS A7N8X mobo; 512MB PC3200 ram; GF4 Ti4600; Maxtor 80GB; SB Live; Cambridge 2.1; NEC FE991SB; Liteon DVD-ROM

Comment

I would say Gamecube for your kiddies, and an Xbox for you.