What do you do for a living thread...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What do you do for a living thread...

I dont think we have had one of these in awhile...so here goes nothing...

I work as a Contractor for the U.S. Army taking care of the hardware end of their suites of Wargames that they use to train Officers. The hardware that I take care of ranges from DEC MicroVaxs running OpenVMS to workstations running Pentium 90s(windows 3.11 and DOS 6.2 ) with DEC VT's. The othe suite is a Windows NT 4.0 setup that barely gets used. In the next couple years we are supposed to go over to a Windows 2000 based system, replacing the old P90s we got..

Scott
    Why is it called tourist season, if we can't shoot at them?

Tech support for my department/company / tech support for our clients / web developer / sys admin / server admin / general hardware guy.

All depends who's away today!

Comment

As little as possible
      At the moment a part time english teacher until I can improve my Japanese (and get the right visa - another story) enough to actually use the MCSE and MCDBA certification I have sitting in a box somewhere.

Dan
      Juu nin to iro

English doesn't borrow from other languages. It follows them down dark alleys, knocks them over, and goes through their pockets for loose grammar.

Comment

Used to work in a Large Scale Printing Company as a "Finishing Assistant" (Basically a Lemming that isn't allowed to Die"

Now I am setting up my own business as part of a franchise of up and coming Northern Ontario PC Shops.. And Working at the HQ Learning Management and Working over my L33t Sk1LLz at most things hardware related (Plus learning Various Styles of Programming in my spare time)

Mainly though I just properly fix the average joes system after its been "Fixed" by "Knowledgeable Techs" who can be found by picking up their cards or taking down their numbers off of public display boards.