Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Win2k installation questions

Hello everyone
    Okay, I’ve finally decided to move on to a real OS and install Windows 2000! But I have a few queries, so here I am!
    Well, the first one is: In what order should the following be installed?
    >SP2
    >IE 5.5 (or is it included in sp2?)
    >DirectX 8a
    >Intel Chipset Inf update
    >G200 drivers
    >Soundcard drivers
    Anything else?
    Also, are the Application and Game compatibility updates included in SP2, or are they separate?
    And does NTFS offer any performance improvement over FAT32?
    And finally, how much of a performance drop should I expect in games as compared to Win Me? Just for reference, in UT at 800x600@16 bpp, I get an average of about 40 fps, so at the same settings, what would be the expected drop inWin2K?
    Please help! I’m a total newbie to Win2K!!!!
    Thanks
    Cheers
    Ovi

System config: P-III 450, 128 MB PC100 SDRAM, i440zx M/B (Acorp), Samsung 4.3 GB ATA/33 HDD, Matrox Millennium G200 (8 MB), Creative Ensoniq Audio PCI64 Sound card, Creative infra 48x CDROM drive etc.

Well i`d go SP2, G200 drivers, DX8a, SoundCard, IE5.5(or 6, i hesitated before installing it, but it hadnt crash yet, then again i mostly use Opera ... ) ...

AC update, i cant remember, i *think* its in SP2, NTFS is just a tad bit slower than FAT32, but more secure (you wont notice much of a difference speed wise).

I had a drop in FPS in UT once i installed it on Win2k, some 5 fps, and i didnt remember ALL the changes i made in the settings, preferences & .ini files, but when i tweaked it the frames came back
    Seth, are you ok? I`m peachy Kate. The world is my oyster. - Seth Gecko

Comment

NTFS offer more protection than Fat32 but it's a little slower. In Fat32 i bench 16867 and with NTFS i do 16692 so the speed isn't truly a problem... stay in Fat32 if you don't need a big security.