Win2k server and DSL sharing...?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Win2k server and DSL sharing...?

Howdy all. Got a question, or maybe a couple.

First, my little cheapo DSL router took a dive a couple weeks ago. I figured no problem, I'll set up my spare comp as a server. Seeing as how I have no linux experience I went with 2k Advanced Server. (Yes I payed 110 bucks when Linux is free) For the most part everything runs fine and dandy, all 5 other computers get DHCP addresses and connect fine.

Problem 1) None of the computers on the netowrk here can send files out via file sharing apps...Apps such as the various popular file sharers, FTP servers, and such. Any idea how I can open up at least one computer with open connectivity to the internet?

Problem 2) If I have nothing at all running on the Server machine it works great, for the most part. However, when I have anything running in the background, ICQ, an FTP server, file sharing programs, etc. it tends to disconnect itself from the internet, and as such all the comps in the house lose the internet.

Ext. to Problem 2) I have a fairly unreliable DSL provider, and whenever I get disconnected (usually for 30 secs - 1 minute) the same thing happens, I lose all connectivity and the only way to get it back is to close the in home network line, connect with only the internet connection running, then open the internal connection back up.

The server machine is a P3 800, un-oc'ed of course, with 128 megs of generic RAM and IBM hdd's.

I apologize for the crazy length of this post, tried to explain as best I could. If anyone knows any way around any of the problems I welcome any suggestions you have. Thanks for helping a newbie out.

If you are using PPPoE (sounds like it) on the DSL line, I recommend getting RASPPPoE (do a quick web search) and getting version 0.96 - it will auto-reconnect with no loss of the home network.

- Gurm