Off topic - the birth of Television

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Off topic - the birth of Television

If anyone is interested, here is a website dedicated to the inventor of Television, Philo T. Farnsworth:

A Must-Read for Anybody Who Watches Television!

Fascinating reading, tells of his idea as a 14 y.o. boy, to project and transmit motion pictures by radio waves, its development, his struggles to patent it and perfect it, and his legal battle against RCA to protect his patents.

Graham

Jerrold Jones

Yes - he grew up in Rigby, Idaho... not far from where I attended high school (St. Anthony, Idaho):

Tune into The Farnovision and read The Farnsworth Chronicles, a detailed account of the life of Philo T. Farnsworth - the extraordinary but nearly forgotten inventor of electronic television, and his efforts to prevail in one of the most contentious industrial struggles of the 20th century.

As a high school student, I remember driving through Rigby, a small town, and feeling both proud and amazed that the father of television had grown up there.

Comment

Gawd Almighty! How to rewrite history! Please note that in the pre-history section there is no mention of the real pioneers like Nipkow and Baird, nor of electronic flying spot scanning of photographs that pre-dated Zworykin (this was working about 1920 with c 200 lines non-interlaced). This technique was eventually developed into the Telecine machine which the BBC had in service in 1936 when they started their electronic TV service from Alexandra Palace on 45 MHz. It translated 35 mm 24 x 18 mm image size cine film into a 405 line interlaced image, 25 fps. The main problem that bugged Zworykin in the early days was keystone correction due to the angular attack of the photosensitive surface by the electron beam, and maintaining the focus of the latter over the range of distances.
      Brian (the devil incarnate)

Comment