Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DVD Drive problems.

Hi

I have tried seraching the forum but it keeps chucking me out so here we go.

I have just upgraded to Win 2K and I am wondering if there is a known problem with DVD drives. I have an Aopen 1040 drive and every time a DVD goes in it just clicks for ages and locks my system up (nearly).

I am very new to win 2k so sorry if this there is a simple fix known to thousands sorry.

It can read normal cd's no problem and win2k sees it as a DVD so I can't work out what the problem is.

I haven't got the service pack yet and I am using the 4.26 via drivers as thses are the only ones that worked ok on Win98.

Sounds like Win2k is auto-launching your DVD software, and that the DVD software is stuffed. Try getting a newer version, or reinstalling if you're sure the version that you have is win2k-certified.

Or... turn off Autoplay, at least.

- Gurm
    The Internet - where men are men, women are men, and teenage girls are FBI agents!

I'm the least you could do
    If only life were as easy as you
    I'm the least you could do, oh yeah
    If only life were as easy as you
    I would still get screwed

Comment

I haven't installed any DVD software just what comes with Win2K as standard. I will try the autoplay suggestion.

Cheers

It didn't make a difference, it still just seems to stick. Also this is with data dvd's not movies.

Anyone any ideas?
      Last edited by dbdg; 5 September 2001, 13:29.

Comment

I am using the 4.26 via drivers as thses are the only ones that worked ok on Win98
        the 4.32 drivers appear to work well with win2k so suggest you update from www.viahardware.com

Comment

Cheers.

I will give that a go tomorrow.

Comment

Do you have any other OS's hanging around?

I suspect that it's a hardware problem, and that your DVD drive is just failing.