Magnetic screwdrivers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Magnetic screwdrivers

Could magnetic screwdrivers damage computers by making screws magnetic?
    If there's artificial intelligence, there's bound to be some artificial stupidity.

Jeremy Clarkson "806 brake horsepower..and that on that limp wrist faerie liquid the Americans call petrol, if you run it on the more explosive jungle juice we have in Europe you'd be getting 850 brake horsepower..."

I never had a problem with using mine but I suppose there's always a remote theoretical possibility!

Comment

Boy, that's a real stretch. I've used magnetic screwdrivers since forever and never had it cause a problem in my computers, and I've been using 'em since about 1976.

Still having problems with the 75GXP's? If so where were they made; Europe or Asia (its on the lable)?

Dr. Mordrid
      Dr. Mordrid
      ----------------------------
      An elephant is a mouse built to government specifications.

I carry a gun because I can't throw a rock 1,250 fps

Comment

In short Yes. But to do would depend on the type of magnetic tip or extension. If it's a magnet coupled tip can if left adjacient HD's, Monitors and or floppy drives (& disks).

If it's a weak magnetized tips are generally OK. They don't exhibit this behaviour due to the reduced field strength, with the exception of a monitor screen purity becoming trashed (just degauss it).

I have used weak tips myself for 20+ years and never have had a single issue. Have a massive 15 sub driver awaiting a voice coil transplant and a quick but light tap on the magnet and the tip locks in a strong enough field that will easily hold a screw.
        To demag them... just drop on a hard floor a couple times

or you can buy my book,
        Fun with Greebes Magnets
        Vol. 1-5
        "Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter, and those who matter don't mind." -- Dr. Seuss