RRG Install Experience - not good

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RRG Install Experience - not good

I have been using Matrox video cards almost exclusively for six years now. And, even though driver updates tend to be few and far between the cards themselves are pretty darn solid. There price performance ratio is unparaleled. Why bother even looking at another manufacturer?

I have just been reminded that you can't take anything for granted in the computer industry.

How did I re-learn this lesson, you might ask? Simple. I bought a Rainbow Runner G-Series to go with my Millenium G200. Are drivers, and software supposed to be this difficult to install? Despite my experience with M$ products, I'm pretty sure the answer is no. Or, perhaps I'm a fool. Because, I assumed that the driver CD Accompaning my new toy would contain working drivers.

Sigh...

I followed the install directions to the letter, and was rewarded with three crashed installs. After, much reading on the net I learned that this was a common problem. I'd really like to know why. This product has been out for over a year! To continue supplying bad drivers with a shipping product for that lenght of time is entirely irresponsible. To make matters worse, I purchased my RRG from Matrox itself. Had I acquired this product from another retailer I might be able to forgive them for carrying old stock. Not so in this case.

At any rate, the solution provided by Matrox was to download new drivers for both the RRG and the Millenium G200. Once again, following all instructions to the letter resulted in a crashed intall of the RRG. A second attempt worked - sort of. The Quick Connect applet froze, requiring a hard reboot, but the drivers were installed.

So what if PC-VCR crashed with a "vidpres.exe" error 90% of the time? I can still access the card through other programs, like VirtualDub. Or, can I? It seems that "Line" sources are MacroVision protected. Even the ones that arent.