Low quality Video sources (games) w/G400TV

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Low quality Video sources (games) w/G400TV

Firstly, I'm only asking about NTSC video signals. I have no experience with PAL.

I've been extremely pleased with the capture quality of my G400TV. This post only concerns using the G400TV to view video signals, not to capture them. When I first purchased it, I was so pleased that I didn't need a Television to watch TV anymore. Being that I live in Osaka, I have a tiny apartment, and don't really have enough space for a monitor AND a television. It's been quite a godsend.

The problem, however, is that when trying to play video games on my various game systems (N64, Playstation, etc.), the video the G400TV displays to my screen jumps vertically very badly. Trying to play games with the video jumping up and down spastically yields a splitting headache.

Has anyone had any luck with figuring out a way to keep the G400TV's picture from jumping around when using what Matrox calls "Low Quality Video Sources". In their documentation they mention that you can get a jumpy picture from some VCR's, and they completely ignore the fact that you get jumpy video from all video game systems that run games at 30fps instead of 60fps. This means essentially every system before the Dreamcast, as well as all Dreamcast and PS2 games that run at 30fps as well (although those are few and far between). The video tracking utility they distribute with their drivers does nothing either. The only games that aren't affected are those that ran at 60fps.

One option open to me is to reduce the size/resolution of the video application (I normally use PC-VCR, although it occurs in all applications that can access the driver) to something below 720x480. At this point, the jumping stops, but several frames per second are discarded (generally, making it so choppy that most games are unplayable).