UT set up help with G400 needed please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• UT set up help with G400 needed please

OK, I'm a total newbie at setting up my G400 dual head for Unreal Tournament. Could someone help me please? I'm looking to get the best performance out of my system.

So a few newbie questions

D3D or OpenGL? which one should I use and why?

I'm using the latest driver for the G400, Is there a way to over clock the card? Does it matter? The Matrox utility just crashes when I run it. If I use an older driver (5.30?), it works fine.

Is there anything I should do with my system to help max out performance in UT?

C566 overclocked to 850 MHz in a MSI6905 sloket with a GORB
    Abit vt6x4 slot 1 MB
    128 MB ram
    G400 dual head
    10x DVD player (Afreey?)
    using on-board sound for now.
    Old hdd. I'm waiting for my 7200 30GB WD. should arrive next week

Your suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    pigseye

D3D. OpenGL looks much better but you need a BEAST of a machine for it to run smoothly. On your celery, D3D.

Overclocking the card ... on your system, it wont do much. Try MGATweak 1.20b. You need a faster CPU where the G400 will be the bottleneck to have some noticable result by o/cing the card.

Make sure you have disabled VSync, both in Win & in UT. Use MTSTU util to disable it in Windows ... 32BZbuffer (no increase in FPS, but should eliminate some depth errors) In UT, press ~ to get the console, type preferences and scroll down to rendering, D3D, set use32bitZbuffer to true ...

To speed things up, you could disable Dynamic Lightning and Decals. It wont look as pretty, but it`ll run pretty much faster.
    Last edited by omegaRED; 23 July 2001, 04:36.
    Seth, are you ok? I`m peachy Kate. The world is my oyster. - Seth Gecko

Comment

Hi Omegared,
      I appreciate your suggestions and especially the rationale you provided for your suggestions. I'll give them try and will do an update post.