PDA

View Full Version : How about micro-DIMM slot video cards



rubank
4th May 2001, 05:32
With modules like <a href="http://www.theinquirer.net/04050101.htm"target=_blank>this</a>, why not?

As faster modules comes along, just swap, update the drivers and fly http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/biggrin.gif

rubank

Pace
4th May 2001, 06:25
Having memory slots, and upgradeable memory costs money http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Plus...we'll be getting embedded RAM soon http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/tongue.gif

P.

rylan
4th May 2001, 07:09
Exactly.. that would add costs to the board, and expansion memory is slower than on board memory, especially embedded ram.

Bursar
4th May 2001, 08:40
It wouldn't be as simple as that anyway.

If you buy a card that uses a bus speed of 100MHz (just for instance) and then the 133MHz memory comes out, putting the faster memory in your card won't make any difference. If you're lucky it will just run at the slower speed. If you're not lucky, then it won't run at all and you've wasted your money.

Jorden
9th May 2001, 07:07
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" size="2">If you buy a card that uses a bus speed of 100MHz (just for instance) and then the 133MHz memory comes out, putting the faster memory in your card won't make any difference</font>

Probably someone will come up with an extra card to slot in the slots on that card, to use the full 133MHz FSB or faster, without you losing money on yet another videocard http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif (Anyone out there remember nWeBringOutACardAMonthdia? http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif)

Just take a look at what Asus brought the people with old revisions mobo's who wanted to upgrade to an Intel 800 or faster chip, but didn't have 133MHz FSB http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Would it all still fit in your PC though? That's another question someone has to come to a solution with http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

Jord.



[This message has been edited by Jorden (edited 09 May 2001).]

William Gates III
9th May 2001, 08:14
Well Jorden, just check the size!
1 inch high. And put to the proper side they wonīt block anything.

Bill

az
9th May 2001, 08:23
<A HREF="http://www.heise.de/newsticker/result.xhtml?url=/newsticker/data/ciw-11.04.01-002/default.shtml&words=BGA%20Infineon%20DDR"TARGET="_BLANK"><IMG SRC="http://www.heise.de/newsticker/data/ciw-11.04.01-002/aufmacher.jpg" ALIGN="LEFT" BORDER="0"></A>Well, the future belongs to memory chips like these, with a new JEDEC standard Ball Grid Array as connection to the board. (they'll allow up to 300 MHz DDR at lower power consumption than current chips).

Regardless of if those RAMs will be used or FCRAM or RL-SDRAM, BGA is the new way of connecting RAM chips to the PCB, just because it's a JEDEC standard http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

AZ

Jorden
9th May 2001, 09:09
Ah Bill, I did check the size... Find a videocard with dimm slots, put on an extra slotket for converting, put in the new memory http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

If you have an old SLOT 1 mobo, your RAM will be chewed to bits by the fan on the CPU then, or if the card is the other way around, nothing will fit in PCI slot 2 either http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

If you have a new 370 slot mobo, you might be home free, but for if you OC a lot, need a bigger heatsink, and a helicopter in that heatsink to cool your CPU, plus you have the problem with PCI slot 2 if reversed http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

New Tower design and mobo design, please http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Jord.

[This message has been edited by Jorden (edited 09 May 2001).]

Gurm
9th May 2001, 09:33
ATI used to do that, on their Rage Pro cards. My XPert@Play had a nice little socket to add another 4MB of standard laptop memory. http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

- Gurm

------------------
Listen up, you primitive screwheads! See this? This is my BOOMSTICK! Etc. etc.

William Gates III
9th May 2001, 13:15
Jorden,

why on earth would you build a card with ordinary dimm-slots and then use converter slotkets for the new micro standard??? :~

Remember the mem modules for G200? These new dimms would be smaller but could hold up to 1 Gb@500 mhz. I think even your antiquated slot1 cpu could be in the clear! http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/biggrin.gif


AZ, these micro-dimms are JEDEC standard too!
Bill


[This message has been edited by William Gates III (edited 09 May 2001).]

Jorden
9th May 2001, 13:19
I wasn't thinking, Bill... but then again, neither do some videocard mfr's http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

az
10th May 2001, 16:03
Mr. Gates, the BGA interface is JEDEC standard for graphic cards http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

AZ

William Gates III
10th May 2001, 16:40
AZ,

thatīs good.

Now we can have vidcards with onboard BGA mem on the front and micro-dimm slots on the flipside for upgrade http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/biggrin.gif

Bill

az
10th May 2001, 16:51
*LOL yeah... upgradeable Video Memory, like in the good ol' days http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

AZ