PDA

View Full Version : G550 newest specs



frankymail
9th May 2001, 09:08
Hey,
I've read TheReg's article ( http://www.theregister.co.uk/content/3/18832.html ) and saw something I like: 3 textures per pixel pipeline, where it was rumored it had only 2 textures units per pipe...

Francis

------------------
What was necessary was done yesterday;
We're currently working on the impossible;
For miracles, we ask for a 24 hours notice ...

az
9th May 2001, 09:14
Will this make a big difference? Cheaply produced games will optimize for nVidia, meaning they'll use 2 textures per pipeline, but since the radeon supports 3 layer one-pass multitexturing too, I guess this will be more widely used, and better games will be optimized for all cards, not just for the nVidia ones. But still: Will this make a big performance difference? Radeon uses the 3rd pipeline for EMBM when EMBM is used, I think, and as Matrox's next card will most likely support EMBM in hardware, will it look more like 4 layer one-pass multitexturing when EMBM is used?

Assuming the stats are true (I hope so, and I hope to be able to buy a card in summer, as I'll get myself a new computer by then http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif)

AZ

CHHAS
9th May 2001, 09:53
AFAIK the Geforce 3 also has 3 texture units per pipe, so we should see more games optimized for this in the future.

All in all the specs sounds like a Radeon with most of the T&L removed, not really sure how impressive this is ...

az
9th May 2001, 10:10
No, it's more like an overclocked radeon with drivers that are equally bad in win2k and win9x (opposed to the radeon's being worse in 2k http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif), matrox picture quality, dualhead and without annoying red icons http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

AZ

EvilDonnyboy
9th May 2001, 14:31
If they're right in saying the G550 will be clocked around 200-250mhz, it looks like it'll be performing quite alright. Assuming the supposed 128bit DDR memory will be running at the same speed as the core, the G550 should peform on par/better than the Radeon.

Good enough for me, I'm sold.

Galvin
9th May 2001, 14:35
As long as the lighting bug is fixed with the next card. Every openGL game I have played I have always seen this very noticable and anoying bug. 32 megs of ram seems rather small though.

frankymail
9th May 2001, 16:44
Hey CHHAS, I tink your mistaken: the GeForce 3 has four pixel pipelines with 2 texture units per pipeline... However, it can do 4 pixels with 4 textures in 2 cycles...

Francis

------------------
What was necessary was done yesterday;
We're currently working on the impossible;
For miracles, we ask for a 24 hours notice ...

CHHAS
9th May 2001, 22:32
Frankymail:

Hmm, I'm sure I read somewhere that the GF3 had 3 texture units per pipe, ah well http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif