PDA

View Full Version : Pace! SETI without HD's!



Guru
23rd August 2000, 07:06
Pace to get your 486's and Pentiums runing with no HD's go to lrp.c0wz.com. There is a distro the Linux Router Project with the seti client that you can run from a floppy. No need for a HD, it boots, creates a ram drive and off ya go. Only problem is power failures as you will lose everything in your RAM. then put those comps crunching for the "old-timers" account! http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

------------------
PIII450@558, ABIT BX6-2, 256RAM, G400MAX, SBLIVE, HOTROD-UDMA66
Join the MURC SETI team! (http://setiathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/cgi-bin/cgi?cmd=team_join_form&id=25678)

Pace
23rd August 2000, 11:47
Thanks - what distro should I use?

And is it hard to add the Seti client?

How do I upload units?

Paul.

------------------
Pace3000 Network:
Arena (http://homepage.ntlworld.com/paul.mccarroll/hosted/arena) | P3K (http://www.pace3000.freeserve.co.uk) | TechSupport (http://homepage.ntlworld.com/paul.mccarroll/hosted/support) | Portal (http://homepage.ntlworld.com/paul.mccarroll/portal.htm)
Join SETI@MURC! (http://setiathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/cgi-bin/cgi?cmd=team_join_form&id=25678) | Boost SETI@MURC! (http://homepage.ntlworld.com/paul.mccarroll/hosted/seti/)

Guru
23rd August 2000, 13:18
I have not tried it! I will try to get it running on my old compaq! It should propably be faster then win98 on that computer!

Guru

------------------
PIII450@558, ABIT BX6-2, 256RAM, G400MAX, SBLIVE, HOTROD-UDMA66
Join the MURC SETI team! (http://setiathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/cgi-bin/cgi?cmd=team_join_form&id=25678)