PDA

View Full Version : i386-winnt-cmdline problem



nehalmistry
6th August 2000, 18:49
i am having problems with the text version of the text version for win9x (winnt-cmdline)

first off, i had a hell of a time finding the winsock 2 update to run it(i have win95), but i finally found it http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

and when i run it, it shows info, such as coordinates, frequency, blah blah blah, then it sais "doing baseline smoothing" and then thats all, the cursor is blinking, and its processing the information im sure because my CPU is being used up completely, but how can i see the progress, like in the graphical version...??????

------------------
P5A-B AMD K6-300
Matrox Milleniumm G200 AGP (oh, lets party)
Creative SB Awe32 (a classic, superb card)
Realtek 8029A NIC Card
64meg Ram
Ali V agp chipset
ICQ UIN: 24730025

Jorden
6th August 2000, 18:55
It should be updating thereafter with lines like 0.010% processed (for instance). What else is running in the background? And I sure hope you didn't close the Window the cmd-line is running in? (for then it won't run, ofcourse).

Doing the initial base-line smoothing can take up some time though, if you're running lots of other stuff in the background. (The first cmd-line had this problem anyway)

Jord.

Sisyfos
6th August 2000, 20:37
You have to start it with the -verbose switch i.e. seti....exe -verbose.


[This message has been edited by Sisyfos (edited 07 August 2000).]

nehalmistry
6th August 2000, 21:58
thankyou Sisyfos, you're a smart son of a gun.... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

btw, does the -verbose command slow it down at all???

------------------
P5A-B AMD K6-300
Matrox Milleniumm G200 AGP (oh, lets party)
Creative SB Awe32 (a classic, superb card)
Realtek 8029A NIC Card
64meg Ram
Ali V agp chipset
ICQ UIN: 24730025

Sisyfos
6th August 2000, 22:13
I don't think the -verbose switch will slow it down by much, maybe a couple of minutes per WU.
Another possibility if you want to know the progress is SetiSpy (http://pages.tca.net/roelof/setispy/).
There's a hole slew of add-ons (http://setiathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/links.html#links_win) for the Windows Clients as well.

Enjoy the multitudes of possibilities http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

nehalmistry
9th August 2000, 00:25
im running it with -verbose, but it rarely shows the percentage....i cant check it whenever i want like with the graphical client, how can i fix this?

------------------
P5A-B AMD K6-300
Matrox Milleniumm G200 AGP (oh, lets party)
Creative SB Awe32 (a classic, superb card)
Realtek 8029A NIC Card
64meg Ram
Ali V agp chipset
ICQ UIN: 24730025

cjolley
9th August 2000, 11:12
Use the above mentioned http://pages.tca.net/roelof/setispy/

It will show you a lot of cool stuff.
chuck

Guru
9th August 2000, 14:01
nehalmistry! How mutch faster <img src=http://smilecwm.tripod.com/ut2/redcap.gif>is the cmdline ver. then the <img src=http://smilecwm.tripod.com/ut2/bluecap.gif> gui ver. on your system?

------------------
PIII450@558, ABIT BX6-2, 256RAM, G400MAX, SBLIVE, HOTROD-UDMA66
Join the MURC SETI team! (http://setiathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/cgi-bin/cgi?cmd=team_join_form&id=25678)

nehalmistry
10th August 2000, 13:48
thx, setispy was what i needed... much faster than GUI version of seti@home

guru: the text version takes about 21 hrs, and the GUI version takes about 30hrs.... big difference eh?

------------------
P5A-B AMD K6-300
Matrox Milleniumm G200 AGP (oh, lets party)
Creative SB Awe32 (a classic, superb card)
Realtek 8029A NIC Card
64meg Ram
Ali V agp chipset
ICQ UIN: 24730025

mynx
14th August 2000, 16:53
When I switched my computers over to the text version, I found that the slower processors had the biggest changes.

Assimilator1
14th August 2000, 17:23
hmm ,interesting , I wonder why?
Anyone?

------------------
I guess I won't recruit for my team here ;) Team Anandtech

nehalmistry
14th August 2000, 23:09
thats because even though the speed changes, the amount needed to proccess the graphics doesnt...

eg. lets say it takes 50% of a 300mhz CPU to proccess the graphical portion... if you switch to the text version... the graphical part is taken out.. freeing up that 50% and doubling the speed...

but if it is on a 600mhz computer, it would only take 25% of the CPU to proccess the graphics, and switching to the text version would make it only 25% faster.. therefore... the difference is not noticed as much as slower proccessors...

sorry if its confusing... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif



------------------
P5A-B AMD K6-266@300
Matrox Milleniumm G200 AGP (oh, lets party)
Creative SB Awe32 (a classic, superb card)
Realtek 8029A NIC Card
64meg Ram
Ali V agp chipset
ICQ UIN: 24730025

Assimilator1
16th August 2000, 11:20
Seems logical http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif except that doesn't account for when the 'blank screen' setting is enabled ,with it set to 0 no graphics are being produced.
So why the big difference in that instance?

You did set blank screen didn't you?

Sisyfos
16th August 2000, 11:30
Are you comparing GUI 2.04 to CLi 2.4?
Are they comparable code wise, i.e. optimizations etc.?

------------------
Join the MURC SETI team! (http://setiathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/cgi-bin/cgi?cmd=team_join_form&id=25678)

View the exciting stats (http://seti.matroxusers.com)