PDA

View Full Version : Speed test - interesting results



Swing
17th July 2000, 10:47
I am using a PIII 600E stepping cA3 at 800MHz and FSB at 133MHz.

I clocked the CPU back to 690MHz and increased the rest of the FSB to 153MHz (RAM timing at 2,2,2 - Mosel RAM from www.memman.com (http://www.memman.com) [and a 128MB stick has gone up $38 in two months]). I then ran some WUs and found almost no difference in the time to complete them, and I believe I am in the top 10 fastest at MURC using SETI@home.

This proves the importance of using fast high quality RAM with the SETI@home program.

Brian R.
17th July 2000, 13:08
Another interesting result. I have an ABIT BE6-2 running a PIII 600 Klamath at 672 MHz. The computer runs SETI around 40% faster when I set the fsb and AGP/fsb ratio settings with the dip switches on the MB, instead of using the SoftMenu III. The Softmenu is much slower at the exact same settings for SETI.

paulcs
17th July 2000, 15:20
Swing, what motherboard are you using?

Paul
paulcs@flashcom.net

Swing
17th July 2000, 19:05
paulcs,

ASUS P3V4X

Swing
17th July 2000, 19:08
Brian R.

Hmmm...

I might try that, thanks. If I could get a 40% increase, I could crunch WUs in less than 3 hours.

Brian R.
17th July 2000, 22:48
My result is probably just a figment of my imagination.

I posted this before and no one tested it on their BE6-2 and reported back.

Rags
17th July 2000, 22:57
Brian,

That's not quite true, I tried this myself on my BE6 II and BF6 both, and found whether or not the dip switches were used, the performance was the same on my machines. This was using a 133 FSB, as well.

Rags



------------------
Partnership for an idiot (http://www.tomshardware.com/) free America

paulcs
18th July 2000, 01:11
Swing, I suspected you had a P3V4X. Coupled with the P3600E @ 800 MHz, it's just the fastest board I've seen when it comes to SETI.

Paul
paulcs@flashcom.net

SteveC
18th July 2000, 03:11
Hmmm, I'll give it a go on my BE6-II. Can the dip switches give me 125Mhz FSB?

------------------
Cheers,
Steve

"Life is what we make of it, yet most of us just fake"

bongo
18th July 2000, 08:23
aaargh...I can't take this anymore...

WHAT IS SETI???? Hardware, Software, a bar...what!!??

thanks

SteveC
18th July 2000, 09:22
bongo - (put McEnroe's voice on) You Cannot Be Serious!! http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

Search for Extra-Terrestial Intelligence

SETI@Home is a client program that we all run which talks to Berkeley University in the states over the net and analyses data collected from various satellites around the world for aliens.

------------------
Cheers,
Steve

"Life is what we make of it, yet most of us just fake"

[This message has been edited by SteveC (edited 18 July 2000).]

MegaManX4
18th July 2000, 10:03
At least i found an Alien, every morning in the mirror http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/biggrin.gif.

Mega

Swing
18th July 2000, 13:25
Thanks paulcs.

Brian R.,

I tried your suggestion. Prior to running SETI I ran some benchmarks to see if there was any performance improvement, and I saw none. I then ran a couple of WUs and as the benchmarks proved, there was no performance improvement.

If you got a 40% increase with this proceedure (using dip switches), I suspect there is a problem with BIOS code or a motherboard defect that is slowing the machine down when using SoftMENU. The same speed should be realized if the dip switches and BIOS treat CPU, bus(es) and RAM speeds the same.

Swing
18th July 2000, 13:30
bongo,

Go here to find the answer to your question asking what SETI(@home) is:
http://setiathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/

bongo
19th July 2000, 07:24
thank you all, i feel so stupid, sort of like one of the characters in this picture. Do they qualify as aliens?


http://www.spielberg-dreamworks.com/chickenrun/presskitcd/Going_Over_Plan.jpg

Brian R.
19th July 2000, 08:00
Rags, I don't remember anyone trying that, but my memory isn't what it used to be either. Are you running a coppermine or a Klamath? It might have an effect on the Klamath and not coppermines.

Interesting though, Sandra shows no difference in cpu performance between the two setups. Might be a L2 cache issue.

Also, it may just be an artifact of the 112 MHz fsb setting. The other fsb speeds may not be inhibited with Softmenu. Haven't tried other fsb settings.

Steve. The closest is 124 MHz with the dips


[This message has been edited by Brian R. (edited 19 July 2000).]

Brian R.
19th July 2000, 08:13
Steve - Actually the data is collected from the radio telescope outside of Arecibo, Puerto Rico. Not satellites.

Rags
19th July 2000, 08:21
Brian,

I tried it with my P3450 as well.

Rags

SteveC
19th July 2000, 08:57
I meant satellite dishes - I know that's not technically correct either, but that's what they look like!! http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

And I said around the world coz the actual SETI program (I don't mean the client software, but the actual project) uses data from not just aricebo, doesn't it?

------------------
Cheers,
Steve

"Life is what we make of it, yet most of us just fake"

[This message has been edited by SteveC (edited 19 July 2000).]

Swing
19th July 2000, 09:23
bongo,

Great pictures of the SETI team at work! http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/biggrin.gif

paulcs
19th July 2000, 10:57
Hey! That's not the SETI Team. That's Hitachi Semiconductor CEO & President Tadashi Ishibashi and his assistant explaining to the board their strategy of capitulation to Rambus. http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Paul
paulcs@flashcom.net

Brian R.
19th July 2000, 10:58
The only data used currently for distribution is from Arecibo. The next generation project may change that, but that's in the distant future.

Brian R.
19th July 2000, 11:00
Rags, it's as I figured, just my mb acting screwy. I've had bad luck with mbs. Maybe it's because I'm constantly cleaning them with my tongue while they're running ( http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif).

It's hard to understand why Sandra doesn't pick this up, only SETI.

[This message has been edited by Brian R. (edited 19 July 2000).]