PDA

View Full Version : ever tried to crunch in W98 safe mode ?



Maggi
7th June 2000, 01:09
Go figure ... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif btw, I'm now at ~6 hours/WU @ 875MHz http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

L8rz,
Maggi

CHHAS
7th June 2000, 01:17
How long did it take in 'normal' mode ?

Maggi
7th June 2000, 02:51
~ 7 hours ... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

CHHAS
7th June 2000, 03:16
Great http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

I'll be trying that as soon as I get home from work.

*CHHAS cackling madly at the thought of faster crunching*

office boy
7th June 2000, 10:27
It would be faster, as no drivers or services are loaded.

CHHAS
7th June 2000, 11:01
Well, I tried it out, it seems a bit faster, although not as fast as I had hoped http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/frown.gif

However running in Safe Mode solves another problem I was facing.
I've just ordered my ADSL connection, and wasn't looking forward to being online 24/7 with the PC left unattended, running in Safe Mode prevents this, as the network drivers aren't loaded http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Assimilator1
7th June 2000, 11:01
I had heard that safe mode is faster but this is the 1st time I've seen figures on it ,thanks Maggi http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

BTW I don't think I'll try it ,I don't fancy MBM not loading up

------------------
I guess I won't recruit for my team here ;) TA

Maggi
8th June 2000, 00:32
ok ... make that ~7 hours a ~6.5 hours ... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/biggrin.gif

I had my CPU @ 850 and not @ 875, plus it must have been some long-to-crucnh WUs.

But still there's an improvement of half an hour ... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Too bad that the spies from TA already seen this thread, I didn't think about it before posting.

Anyway, Assim ... even if MBM won't boot up automatically, you could still try to launch it manually ... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

office boy
8th June 2000, 09:18
MBM sucks system resources.
for optimal seti cracking you should disable your anti-virus software, and any hardware monitors.

office boy
8th June 2000, 09:23
MBM sucks system resources.
for optimal seti cracking you should disable your anti-virus software, and any hardware monitors.

Maggi
8th June 2000, 14:34
Darn you, office boy ... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

I hoped I could waste some of Assim's MIPS ... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/biggrin.gif

Kruse
9th June 2000, 03:42
Sounds neat... think I'll try it too...

I'm already at ~6 hours/WU at only 558 MHz though... Maybe I can get it down to 5.5 ?

Assimilator1
9th June 2000, 10:16
Office Boy

MBM takes between 0.25-0.30% of CPU time every 3 seconds ,its such a tiny loss that it'll make no real difference to WU times. http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif
It also gives me piece of mind that if the cpu fans fails or the cpu gets too hot it will shut down my PC automatically.

Maggi

:P ,no such luck http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

------------------
I guess I won't recruit for my team here http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif TA



[This message has been edited by Assimilator1 (edited 09 June 2000).]

mynx
13th June 2000, 17:40
I have tested work unit times with MBM on and off and there was no noticable difference. It has already save me once when the processor cooling fan died. MBM and cpuidle kept the temperature down until i got home and noticed the problem.

AMC
14th June 2000, 03:38
What the heck is MBM ?

Maggi
14th June 2000, 03:57
MotherBoardMonitor ... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

AMC
14th June 2000, 05:34
Thanks

AMC
14th June 2000, 05:34
Thanks

Assimilator1
14th June 2000, 10:55
Here's a link for it

hahaha I'm a Murcer http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/biggrin.gif
http://members.brabant.chello.nl/~a.vankaam/mbm/


------------------
I guess I won't recruit for my team here http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif TA



[This message has been edited by Assimilator1 (edited 15 June 2000).]

paulcs
14th June 2000, 23:22
Let me be the first to say congratulations Assimilator1 (since I took offense to your first post and ratted you out to your teammates http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif ).

We have a little ritual--call it an initiation--to honor new Murcers. It involves just a teensy weensy bit of ritualistic mutilation. Nothing much. Certainly nothing that will show (unless you wear a Speedo bathing suit at the beach).

Now, the last I heard, Maggi had the tatoo gun and Steve had the branding iron.

By the way, what kind of video board do you use. http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Paul
paulcs@flashcom.net

Maggi
15th June 2000, 00:02
yeppers, congrats to our infiltrator and the gun is polished and well armed ... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

If you have probs in being tatooed, just shave your head and I'll do it onto your skull ... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/icons/icon2.gif

I hope Stevie already light up the fire and his iron should be glowing in pure white.

http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/icons/icon2.gif

Assimilator1
16th June 2000, 10:55
paulcs

Thanks http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

BTW ,if your gonna do that ritual you'll have to get past my Flak cannon(UT) shredding your face first! http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/biggrin.gif
Your punny guns are no match for my Flak cannon & my rocket launcher http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/biggrin.gif hehe

My graphics card BTW is a LEADTEK TNT2 16Mb overclocked from 125/150MHz to 145/165MHz. http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif
(yes I did that in capitals to grab all you Matrox users attention http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif hehe.
Not only am I from a rival team I also have a graphics card that is from a rival maker! http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif hehe

------------------
I guess I won't recruit for my team here ;) TA

office boy
16th June 2000, 11:54
Yeah over at TA we don't allow crappy vid cards. ONLY TNT2's Geforces, and VOODOO's
I'm a VOODOO3 man myself..... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/biggrin.gif

Rattledagger
16th June 2000, 19:54
So my Voodoo1 is good enough for TA? http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Hecubus
16th June 2000, 23:04
Hey office boy, I have a voodoo3 as well. Of course, I don't actually use it, I just couldn't get past that washed-out blurry display when I was trying to read text and stuff. http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Helevitia
17th June 2000, 12:40
Congrats Assim for making "CLOSET MURCER"!

I know you have a G400 and just don't want to admit it http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Dave

Assimilator1
17th June 2000, 18:24
Rattledagger

hehe ,cool http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif ,you could overclock that to 55MHz http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

------------------
I guess I won't recruit for my team here ;) TA

CHHAS
18th June 2000, 00:52
My Voodoo1 ran at 60 MHz, with a big cooler on top http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Pace
18th June 2000, 13:25
Wow! That's the fastest Voodoo I've seen (well, heard about). Mine came at 57 and wouldn't go any faster (a Diamond Monster).

And, incidentally, I've got a TNT2 in my machine as well - but the next card I'll get will surely be Matrox http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif. In fact, the reason I've got a TNT2 is because it only cost me 5 (~$8?). It hurts to think I could've got an old Millennium for that and actually be able to read what I'm typing http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

Paul.

-- Just editing out the spelling mistakes now I've got my font size at max http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

[This message has been edited by Pace (edited 18 June 2000).]

paulcs
18th June 2000, 19:43
We've got to get the TA boys some G400's.

You know, many many moons ago, Anand used a G200. Then there was the OpenGL debacle...

A G400 will be faster than that TNT2 and your display will be a lot prettier if you have a reasonable monitor.

You're a MURCER now. With the title comes some responsibilites. http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Paul
paulcs@flashcom.net

MegaManX4
19th June 2000, 07:51
Hmm, I like my G400 really. But I must upgrade now because I want to play in 1024x768x32 but it is not possible to run it with 50fps. So until the G800 comes out my card of choice is a Voodoo5 5500. I would wait till the G800 arrives but mass production of the chip starts in September, even if we see a card in december the drivers will be crap and I don't want to wait till next year.


Mega

Assimilator1
21st June 2000, 11:05
Paulcs

Err ,I'm afraid the TNT2 is faster than the G400 in most games & situations http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif.Want me to dig out some links showing this?
And yes I know the G400 has a better quality 2D engine http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Pace

Get a decent monitor first http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif hehe


------------------
I guess I won't recruit for my team here ;) TA

Maggi
21st June 2000, 13:24
Hi Assim,

yes please, show us those scores ...

I'll see if I can find some too, ok ?

http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Assimilator1
21st June 2000, 16:35
OK ,is this where I find out that my info is totally out of date & I get humilated? http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/redface.gif
Nah! surely not?.......
http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=1231&p=12

Hmm ,lost & won ,TNT2 better at higher res
http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=1231&p=13

OK ,lost this one http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/frown.gif
http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=1231&p=17

Lost & won & won this 1! http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif
http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=1231&p=18

Won & lost this 1 ,just
http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=1231&p=18
Won this one easily ,what happened to the G400 here? strange.

BTW I'm not going to be banned for being OT am I? http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/frown.gif
http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=1231&p=23

Same again ,doesn't the G400 like D3D?

Anyway ,I'm drunk ,enough of looking at 1 review ,I'll look for more tommorow when sober if you like.

Good night

BTW I've got nothing against the G400 http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif,except its price




------------------
I guess I won't recruit for my team here ;) TA

Maggi
22nd June 2000, 03:13
Geeze ... are you only surfing on AT ?

http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

No need to post more though, because it seems that you found out what's it about ...
They are on par.

http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Cheers,
Maggi

PS: you had to be way more nasty to get banned ... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

Assimilator1
22nd June 2000, 12:23
Maggi

No ,I visit other hardware sites too ,Sharkeys,Toms,BX boards, a few others occasionally.
I just know my way around Anands the best http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

BTW ,on par ,I'd agree.Looks like the G400 caught up with the TNT2 since its early days http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif.BTW what gives with the D3D game?

ColinP

LOL

Good to see ya around here http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif ,was you waiting for me to take any possible flack before you took the risk of posting here? http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gifhehe ,chicken!:P

------------------
I guess I won't recruit for my team here ;) TA

ColinP
22nd June 2000, 16:12
Ass1
OB...

So this is where you've been hiding !!!!

Get back to T.A.

You're grounded !!!!!

http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Col

P.s.

Big hello to the Murcers !!

------------------
If we weren't supposed to eat animals, they wouldn't be made out of meat..

Maggi
22nd June 2000, 16:33
Heya, Colin !

Welcome aboard ... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

But beware, you might get addicted when visiting too often ... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

Cheese !
Maggi

Swing
27th June 2000, 07:09
I started reading this thread and about half way down Assimilator1 and office boy made some comments about the G400.

Assimilator1 said he is using a TNT2.

I have a little test for you guys. Set down in front of a good 21 inch monitor and run UT with the nVidia card and then the G400.

With the nVidia card UT is UGLY .

As for speed, the G400 has come a long way with improvements since it was first introduced, AGP 4x, better drivers, OGL support and BIOS upgrades.

Actually, I like TNT2 cards, as long as they are used in someone elses computer! http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/biggrin.gif http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/biggrin.gif

[This message has been edited by Swing (edited 27 June 2000).]

Maggi
27th June 2000, 09:32
hehehe ... nice shot, Swing ... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

Fortunately we (well most of us) are grown too mature to take flamebaits that are offered by NVidia users ... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/biggrin.gif

If they insist though, we are well prepared with our asbestos suites and announce:

http://home.att.net/~albpm2/bbql.gif

http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

Cheers,
Maggi

PS: Big thanx to Pauly for his still unbeaten logo !!! http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

[This message has been edited by Maggi (edited 28 June 2000).]

Assimilator1
28th June 2000, 17:01
Swing

Well ,with my diddy little 15" monitor a G400 would be waste of money http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif.

BTW ,what gives with those poor D3D UT scores with the G400?

I thought the G400 only had a quality image advantage in the 2D side of things?

>>>With the nVidia card UT is UGLY<<<

Are you sure? have you seen both on the same monitor?

UT looks good on mine http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif
I admit that I have never seen a G400 in action myself though http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/redface.gif

Peace http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

------------------
I guess I won't recruit for my team here ;) TA

Maggi
28th June 2000, 23:44
Good Morning Assim ... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

UT craps out when trilinear filtering is enabled. Reason for that is that - in contrary to the TNT & TNT-2 - the G400 does true trilinear filtering amd not only dithered bilinear filtering (NVidia)... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif
Thus the G400 takes a performance hit when using trilinear instead of bilinear filtering which can also be seen in Q3 for example.

What scores did you mean exactly ?
Also it makes quite a difference which set of drivers they used.

http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Cheers,
Maggi

PS: Peace is cool ! http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Pace
29th June 2000, 13:11
Maggi: Anand used the 5.52 drivers for the G400 MAX and Detonator 5.16 for the NVIDIA cards - here's the UT results I assume Assimilator1 was referring to (running on a P3-550E):

640x480

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/paul.mccarroll/img/utbenchvga.gif

1024x768

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/paul.mccarroll/img/utbenchxga.gif

1600x1200

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/paul.mccarroll/img/utbenchuxga.gif

Assimilator1: And you made a shot about getting meself a good monitor - do you think I'd be a Matrox fan if I didn't have a nice monitor - how does a Iiyama VM-Pro NF 450 grab you?

Hehe - poxy little 15"er http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif!

Paul.

Maggi
29th June 2000, 15:21
I see ... thanx Paul !

I guess nobody else noticed it, but the D3D performance continously lowered with every release since the 5.13 set of PowerDesk.
Interesting enough that the OGL performance raised to a bigger extend.
I haven't checked the PD6 performance to that extend yet, because as you know, I recently upgraded my CPU and all my former results (I still have tons of 'em http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif) were all run on either my Cel300@450/464 or the Cel333@500.

Anyway, did you also find the exact setup for UT ?
As I posted above, it could be also related to the use of trilinear filtering.

Cheers,
Maggi

PS: How sounds a 22" Eye-Q 127kHz DiamondTron Natural Flatscreen on primary and 21" Nokia Xi445 95kHz on secondary VGA ? http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/biggrin.gif

Assimilator1
30th June 2000, 17:14
Pace

Nice monitor http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif ,I was just pulling your chain anyway http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif ,*sigh* meanwhile I'm stuck with a little looking glass http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif.

Maggi

Interesting point you raise about the Trilinear filtering ,at the end of the day though it's nasty performance hit

------------------
I guess I won't recruit for my team here http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif TA



[This message has been edited by Assimilator1 (edited 01 July 2000).]