PDA

View Full Version : How to get VIA MVP3 to 124Mhz(or even 133)?



MegaManX4
23rd May 2000, 03:25
Here at work I have a K6-2 350@400. I know it does 428 so it should also do 434Mhz(124x3,5). The problem is that the old Seagate 2,1GB HDD is driven with 41Mhz at that settings. What can I do to get it stable? I tried to give it Pio Mode from 4 to 0, not more.

Thanks in advance

Thomas

CHHAS
23rd May 2000, 03:33
Is your memory up to the task ?

That might be the problem, although your old harddrive seems more likely.

------------------
,HS61 004G ,mar BM 691 , 515@005 iamtaK
BG 31 0234 rotxaM, BG 03 +04 rotxaM

Rags
23rd May 2000, 06:43
Hi Mega,

You probably won't be able to make it that high on a board with L2 cache built onto the motherboard. Most L2 cache on these motherboards can't handle FSB's that high.

Rags

MegaManX4
23rd May 2000, 07:05
Uhm, no, it is 5ns cache, ready for 150Mhz I think.

Rags
23rd May 2000, 11:28
5ns cache on a SS7 motherboard??????? What make/model is that?

MegaManX4
23rd May 2000, 13:27
It's a "EP-MVP3-GM" from EPOX.

Mega

MegaManX4
23rd May 2000, 16:07
The memory makes 133 Mhz with no problems( 2x 64MB).