Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Building a new computer... what you guys think of this? :)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building a new computer... what you guys think of this? :)

As some of you know, I've left the most important thing that I have in Korea. No!! NOT my girlfriend! HAHA.. Just kidding. I've left TWO important things in Korea... my girl and my comp. The two most important things in a guys life. Right?

I've got some experience building the things, thanks to my G400 card. (Some of you might know what I'm talking about.)

Anyway, this is what I've come up with. Tell me what you think.

Asus P3v4x mobo
    P3 CU600E processor
    128 PC133MHz ram (Infineon or Crucial)
    G400 (Yay!)
    SoundBlaster Live!
    MS Intellipoint Explorer mouse (the one with the LED's)

This is where I need help. Tell me what you guys think would be the best brand for the product I need.

Flopy drive of some sort
    10-13 gig hard drive
    CD-ROM drive
    17 or 19 inch monitor
    Keyboard
    Case
    Probably a fan for cooling (Golden Orb?)
    A good modem (when I go to college I'll probably use the cable or whatever they got, but the modem is just for back up)
    Some sort of controller card for the HD

Anything I left out? If so, tell me and I'll add it in.

Don't worry about how much each item costs, we'll worry about that part later.

And if there are any pointers you guys want to give to me, feel free to do so. I'm all ears now.
    McRhea

Floppy drive - they're all the same, really
    HD - I'd go with a quantum fireball
    CD-Rom - They're a dime a dozen these days, unless you want dvd.
    19 inch monitor - my brother just got a Viewsonic PF790. Very sweet 19" perfect flat, reasonable price.
    Keyboard - anything by keytronic
    Case - dunno
    fan - i just use cheap oem fans, I don't o/c, but I've heard the orbs are good