Audio-Video Sync Problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Audio-Video Sync Problems

I'm a Matrox newbie, having recently purchased an G400-TV board and still struggling with config and set-up issues. Latest I've come across is that the audio is out of sync with video captured via the card. From messages in the forum and the readme file suplied with the card I've deduced it might be a sound card/Win 98 WDM driver problem, but I can't figure out the solution. Fixes seem to revolve around removing the WDM sound driver, but I can't see any such driver listed in the hardware panel under Systems in the Win98 control panel. Is there something else to try?

I'm runnning a Dell PII450 with Win98SE and a Turtle Beach Montego soundcard (about 18 mths old). I've got the latest drivers for the card from Dell. Am I better off upgrading the card, and if so to what? There's a somewhat cryptic FAQ on this site recommending cards with "non-compliant WDM drivers", but which ones are they. Help please!!

Daniel

Hi,

Your soundcard should be fine, I have one my self..well it's the montego II but basically the same.

Check out the FAQ's where it says, after you capture your clip open Ulead and convert the frame rate to (NTSC 29.97 or PAL 25)

Does the audio lag appear right away or does it take a while to shift?

Regards,
    Elie

[This message has been edited by Elie (edited 11 February 2000).]

Comment

The problem is caused by hardware that is not perfect in time. You should try AVI_IO (it's shareware). I think there will be no sync problem with this software.

Comment

Daniel,

try changing the settings for your audio when you record (8bits, 16 bits, 22KHz, 44 KHz, ...). I had this problem with my WDM audio drivers, and I'm pretty sure one of the combinations worked fine. I think it was 16bits, 22KHz (or 44kHz?).

Sandman.

Comment

This is a reply for Ellie