G400MAX and NT4 SP5 is nogo !?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• G400MAX and NT4 SP5 is nogo !?

I have some experience with adding or changing hardware on a machine running NT4 w/ SP5 and the one thing I can say is it sucks. I have experienced what you are describing, but not with a G400MAX. My advice to you is this:

1) Uninstall and delete everything that has to do with Matrox drivers. I think the Matrox site has instructions on how to do this, but I am not sure.
    2) Reinstall SP5.
    3) Reinstall Matrox drivers.

I got the same video distortion and such when I traded out a video card on an NT machine that had SP5 loaded. I have not noticed this problem in SP4 or lower. I have learned that one of the joys of dealing with Microsoft is installing patches that mess everything up. One quick tip for any future installs of NT4: install SP5 or later before installing any drivers (beyond network, which is a necessity if you are installing to a machine on an NT domain). I haven't had any problems with drivers working since I discovered this. Prize this piece of information, because it was the result of countless hours of frustration.

Hope that works - I sincerely apologize if you have to redownload SP5 and it doesn't work.

Jon
    My baby...

QDI Brilliant IV - Bios 2.0 Beta (Win2000 updates - email me if you want it!)
    2 Pentium III 500 MHz
    256 MB PC-100 SDRAM
    Matrox Millenium G200 8 MB SGRAM - Bios 2.6-20
    2 Creative Labs 3D Blaster Voodoo2 12 MB (SLI...)
    Creative Labs Sound Blaster Live!
    Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400
    Quantum Viking 4.5 GB UW SCSI (weak...)
    Creative Labs PC-DVD Encore 2X
    Iomega 1GB Jazz

All running on Win2000...

SP5 didn't work ... ;-(
    Don't worry I didn't have to download it again. It was still on my HDD as with all large patches.