PDA

View Full Version : Lost textmode in NT4



D o A
12th August 1999, 03:35
I reinstalled NT4 today, and lost the textmode. When I go into textmode, the monitor says 'no signal'. I have textmode when booting, and in win 98, just not in NT... I'm using PD 4.13, but I tried going back to 3.70, and that didn't work either... What's going on?

(PD 4.13 worked before, and I've not reflashed the card or anything... G200 Millennium 8MB )

Zwisch
12th August 1999, 11:08
Hi,

Seems that your BIOS is corrupted. Send an e-mail to matrox, the same thing happened to my card and they send me a file a restore the BIOS... maybe this will help you also!

Ciao

Z

D o A
12th August 1999, 23:52
Well, that would be my guess to, but it works in w98, and I have textmode when booting win NT, and in dos... And I have not flashed or something, so my bios can't be busted... Can it?

Zwisch
13th August 1999, 00:45
Hi,

The BIOS can indeed still be busted... Have you tried to simply update your BIOS on your card? This might fix it if you never did it...

Ciao

Z

D o A
13th August 1999, 01:28
Well, I haven't update the bios for about 6 month or something... I'll try it...

D o A
13th August 1999, 06:58
Yes! I put SP3 on it, and the problem when away... Damn buggy NT...

Zwisch
13th August 1999, 07:34
Hi,

Was it SP5 or SP3 that fixed the problem? At least everything is working fine! http://forums.gagames.com/forums/smile.gif

Ciao

Z

D o A
13th August 1999, 09:31
SP3 was enough. I haven't gotten SP5 yet...

D o A
13th August 1999, 17:18
Now I've updated, I had bios v2.3, and reapplying it did nothing... Still no go in NT. I'll put SP5 on it as soon as I can get a copy...