PDA

View Full Version : PD5 and Asus P5A and G200 agp x2 problems



Nidas
4th July 1999, 09:37
Hi!

I have a:
Asus P5a mb
AMD K6-2 350MHz
128Mb PC100
SB128PCI
SBawe64GOLD (ISA)
Matrox MGA-G200 8Mb AGP
IBM DSKSTR 8,4 Gb

My question is why canīt I use my graphic card in agp x2 mode??? In PD4 I could use it
by "agpflags -1" but it wasnīt so fun becouse I couldnīt play any game, my computer just freeze. I have all the latest driver and bioses for all my card.
Please help!

Thanx!
Niklas H

Helevitia
4th July 1999, 18:49
Nidas,

This is very common amongst us Super7 motherboard users. 99% of all people cannot get AGP2X to work stable on there systems. I also have a P5A and have the same problem. Mot much we can do about it since it appears to be a ALI chipset problem and not a Matrox problem. From what I understand, there are better filters on the G400 and AGP2X is achievable. jHope this helps.

Dave

Nidas
4th July 1999, 19:26
Thanx Dave!

Niklas

armyworm
17th July 1999, 14:38
hi,

My friend has a P5A also. He noticed that he was falling in AGP 1X after the installation of one of the patch for the board... Without it he is at 2X and with it at 1X... but then again, SS7 boards are not stable without the patches..

Ciao

BEn