Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Post your experiences using BNC cables with G4xx

Hi,

In our company we use many Matrox powered PCs, most of them connected to 21" CRT monitors.
    As an engineer i know very well that pro class shielded BNC cables offer better analog signal over normal vga ones. The problem is with my business partners who cannot notice the difference. I admit that we use expensive VGA cables so there is not much difference when change to BNC.
    I noticed clearer text and sharper pixels but not everybody likes this.

At home I have a G400MAX attached to a Iiyama Vision Master Pro 410 (17")
    I run at 1280x1024 and noticed slightly sharper images with the BNC cable.
    Also, when there was a black background with a large white border, the white would bleed into the black - this almost totally vanished.
    The above could just be a fault of the monitor, but the BNC cable certainly helped.
    It cost one penny to cross, or one hundred gold pieces if you had a billygoat.
    Trolls might not be quick thinkers but they don't forget in a hurry, either

Comment

I'm using a G400 Max with two 21" Sony GDM 550's. I have to say that using the BNC cables leads to a far sharper image - this is especially apparent at 1600*1200 - my working resolution.
      What do you want a signature for?

Comment

I've been switching between 15-pin and BNC cable on a Mitsubishi 2040u (22", 20 viewable). The BNC does produce a sharper picture, but it's a little too sharp for my taste. Contrast is a bit high when displaying text, and if I adjust to compensate then colors are too dark. Overall the 15-pin produces a more pleasing image, at least to my eye.

Comment

kinda off topic.. but where can I get a bnc cable and how much do they cost?

Comment

<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" size="2">Originally posted by Dragonian:
            kinda off topic.. but where can I get a bnc cable and how much do they cost?</font>