Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Question to those of you using Win2k... Need help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question to those of you using Win2k... Need help!

I'm not sure if my problem is related to the G400 or not (so this may or may not be OT). I can't get my hard drives to power down after the machine is sitting idle. I'm trying to find out if other murcers are having this problem, so I can either identify or elminate the G400 a the item that is causing this.

This is a fresh install of Win2k, so there aren't many things running on it. I'm new to Win2k, so I'm not too familiar with the various processes that are running automatically when windows boots, but one of the ones I do recognize is powerdesk. I'm trying to elminitate each of the items that could be causing power management of the HDs not to work. This is acting as my server, which runs 24hrs/day, but there could be periods of several days where data on the disks is not accessed, which is why I want to power management to work.

My system is a CII 600@900 on an intel MP440BX motherboard with an MSI 6905 slot1 adapter, 320MB ram, a Maxtor 7.5G 7200 rpm HD as the boot drive with the OS & progs, & two WD 45G 5400rpm drives on a promise Ultra66 converted to a Fasttrak66 for Raid0 (striping), used as a shared network data drive. All drives using NTFS. I also have two NICs (it's also acting as a router with windows ICS), one Intel pro 100+, and one dlink dfe530tx+. The only other item (besides the G400) is a generic pci soundcard (I installed this last, and had the problem before I installed it).