PDA

View Full Version : 64bit DDR vs 128bit SDR....



DarkSyd
12th October 2000, 08:08
Can anyone comment on any differences between the two? My (admittedly simple) reasoning would be that they would yield exactly the same bandwidth.
Thanks
DS

Greebe
12th October 2000, 08:11
Your assumption is correct.

Himself
12th October 2000, 09:22
64 DDR is a tiny fraction slower than 128 SDR.

DarkSyd
12th October 2000, 09:55
I figured as much..thanks guys!

ski
12th October 2000, 12:37
My Question is why did they switch to a lower bandwidth for the memory. If they would have stuck with the 128bit bus I would be alot more interested in buying this prodeuct and would try o/cing that son of a bitch and getting a some extra performance outta of it.

------------------
Staff Memeber and SuperGeek of the Year at
<A HREF="http://www.3dpower.net
ski@3dpower.net" TARGET=_blank>www.3dpower.net
ski@3dpower.net</A>

http://3dpower.net/articles/public/crucified.gif

[This message has been edited by ski (edited 12 October 2000).]

Stringy
12th October 2000, 12:43
My Question is why did they swith to a lower bandwidth for the memory.
they changed to the 64bit data path to reduce the traces, this greatly reduces the costs of production...
And being an Office geared unit, Cost is #1

Craig

DarkSyd
12th October 2000, 14:01
It would seem to be cheaper...for example pricing on SDR Geforce MXs around here is around $200, while the DDR Creative Labs card is $170.

[This message has been edited by DarkSyd (edited 12 October 2000).]

ski
12th October 2000, 19:26
It would have been nice if they came out with a MAX version of the G450 with the 128bit bus and a higher core speed and then the G450 wouldn't have been a big flop.

------------------
Staff Memeber and SuperGeek of the Year at
<A HREF="http://www.3dpower.net
ski@3dpower.net" TARGET=_blank>www.3dpower.net
ski@3dpower.net</A>

http://3dpower.net/articles/public/crucified.gif

Greebe
12th October 2000, 20:53
ski, that would be assuming it would apply the the cost/marketing intentions... this card is doing exactly what they planned for their target market. So with the reduced cost in mind and meeting their expectations what's the flop? Would you say the same about the G250? NO

Maggi
13th October 2000, 02:46
Originally posted by ski:
... If they would have stuck with the 128bit bus I would be alot more interested in buying this product and would try o/cing that son of a bitch and getting a some extra performance outta of it ...

Well, it's up to you if you don't wanna try OCing a card that runs on a 64bit bus, but I gave it a shot ... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

Cheers,
Maggi

ski
13th October 2000, 10:12
Originally posted by Greebe:
ski, that would be assuming it would apply the the cost/marketing intentions... this card is doing exactly what they planned for their target market. So with the reduced cost in mind and meeting their expectations what's the flop? Would you say the same about the G250? NO

------------------
Staff Member and SuperGeek of the Year at
<A HREF="http://www.3dpower.net
ski@3dpower.net" TARGET=_blank>www.3dpower.net
ski@3dpower.net</A>

http://3dpower.net/articles/public/crucified.gif

[This message has been edited by ski (edited 14 October 2000).]

Rags
13th October 2000, 11:10
What the hell is a "Memeber" ?

Greebe
13th October 2000, 11:38
hehe

ski
13th October 2000, 20:31
I am lazy damnnit leave me alone http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/biggrin.gif

------------------
Staff Member and SuperGeek of the Year at
<A HREF="http://www.3dpower.net
ski@3dpower.net" TARGET=_blank>www.3dpower.net
ski@3dpower.net</A>

http://3dpower.net/articles/public/crucified.gif

[This message has been edited by ski (edited 14 October 2000).]

ski
13th October 2000, 20:43
Okay I see my post **** up I was trying to say that the Millennium II was all the business world needs and the G400 only offers dualhead which is an awesome technology, but hardly used in the real word.

------------------
Staff Member and SuperGeek of the Year at
<A HREF="http://www.3dpower.net
ski@3dpower.net" TARGET=_blank>www.3dpower.net
ski@3dpower.net</A>

http://3dpower.net/articles/public/crucified.gif

[This message has been edited by ski (edited 14 October 2000).]

Rags
13th October 2000, 21:13
but hardly used in the real word.
Ummm...think again. Coders use it all the time. I find it a boon for coding. DVD Max is awesome. Using Photoshop and PSP 5 is awesome using dualhead, having windows separated by a monitor, and having those windows fullscreen is so much easier than scrolling and task barring. I think that there are many more out there who feel like I do.

Rags

ALBPM
14th October 2000, 08:09
Dual Head is now the RAGE!!! where I work. Suddenly, instead of writing Product Flows and doing Process developement work in our FAB. I find myself spending about a third of my time installing G400's and setting up Dual Head systems for other Engineers and Managers.
Can't wait till the G450 is in stock at the local shop where I buy the cards for work since that is a cheaper alternative and has higher resolutions for the second head.

I spend most of my time writing process flows for CMOS and Integrated Micro Machine/CMOS products and Dual Head is Frigging invaluable!!!!! Especially when some of these Process flows have over 700 process steps.

We use 'WorkStream' software on a VAX network to track the various product lots in the FAB. With Dual Head I can have three or more WorkStream windows open on one display while I can have MS Word, OutLook and the folders from 3-4 local and Corporate Networks open on the other.
I use Word to write and edit product flows and SPEC files which then get sent through another network to our CIM Group which transfers it to WorkStream and edits the product flows for the FAB's use.

I can easily say the G400 has tripled the amount of work I can do and has made my job so much easier. I now have more free time to play with.... umm 'upgrade' other's systems...LOL

The G450 would be ideal for these applications and more cost effective.

In no way is the G450 a FLOP!!!!!

Paul

ski
14th October 2000, 14:27
If I recall the G450 was targeted at the OEM market which Matrox does not have a strong hold on like ATI has. I never said Dual was not useless as I love mine. But if I am writing in C++ I don't need to monitiors. Most regular businesses won't need DualHead.

------------------
Staff Member and SuperGeek of the Year at
<A HREF="http://www.3dpower.net
ski@3dpower.net" TARGET=_blank>www.3dpower.net
ski@3dpower.net</A>

http://3dpower.net/articles/public/crucified.gif

Rags
14th October 2000, 14:57
I use C++ all the time with dualhead. It's one of the best things I have done so far with it.

Rags

Wombat
14th October 2000, 15:10
Dualhead is great for C++ too. "See" the code on one screen, debug it on the other. I don't think they're using Matrox cards at my lab @ HP (almost certain since it was two monitors under Unix before the mga drivers were out), but there are a number of people with two monitors so they can view the circuits in a separate screen. Yummy.

Ali
14th October 2000, 15:26
I work at a finance company, and all our machines there use Matrox cards. All the credit control guys have dualhead.

Its very handy having the custom Hirepurchase program open in one window, and having baynet (local credit check system) open on another screen. We put all our old 15inch monitors that were going to be thrown out as the second head.

Most of the guys there are too stupid to work out how to use alt-tab to change between windows, so its saved a lot of trouble on my end.

Ali

Tronic
15th October 2000, 13:10
Actually, I think that 64bit DDR is a bit faster than 128bit DDR ... In "half" of a clock cycle, with 64ibt DDR you have already received 64 bits, but with 128bit you have nothing. At full clock both have transferred 128 bits..

At least 64 bit bus is cheaper, because only 64 wires are needed..

DarkSyd
15th October 2000, 13:52
Tronic
I'll be interested to see some benchies regarding that. My 'semi-game' machine needs a new card, and I was looking at a Geforce MX. The CL DDR card is about 30$ Cdn less than the SDR cards...so if performance is about the same or better I think I will pick one up.