Total newbie at this

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Total newbie at this

Ok I'll condense as best I can. I traded a SDR GeForce a while back for a G400MAX. I liked the idea of the Dual Head feature. I'm a gamer and a hardware junkie. I have a 21" Sony GDM-F500 and a 19" Hitachi Superscan 751. I wanted to surf and watch a DVD movies at the same time.

I discovered that the Matrox card absolutely blew the GF's 2d away, and as a matter of fact Quake3 looked even better than nVidia's offering, as far as asthetics go. The MAX's OpenGL ICD didn't really impress me at the time. As the OpenGL game Tribes had all sorts of visual anomalies. And the frame rate was lacking.

So being more or less a gamer at heart I sold the G400MAX and went back to nVidia.

Here's the deal. I now have two systems, one Win9x based with a GeForce GTS for gaming. And a Win2K machine to surf, dabble in graphics (Photoshop), and watch DVD movies.

I read hardware articles religiously on a daily basis. It seems to be a concensous that Matrox owns the 2D portion of video market. And since I'm not going to be playing any games on my Win2K machine 3D performance is not a factor at all. All that being said, this is what I want to do. And I'm asking for your help in picking the right product(s) for me.

I want:
    DH features;
    resizable DVD playback (where I can adjust the windowed movie size;
    the best 2D I can get;
    hopefully, 100mhz refresh at 1600x1200;
    TV on the secondary monitor either a separate TV tuner card or Matrox integrated;
    stable Win2K drivers;
    and a one that supports SMP as a have a dual P3 550 motherboard.

Given the info above what Matrox product would you recommend? There's a Rainbow Runner, A Millienum, a MAX, eG450 TV and the Marvel. blah, blah, blah and I don't know which to get. All Greek to me. Matrox gave me too many choices. :P