RT-2000 and "frame accuracy"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RT-2000 and "frame accuracy"

I tried to make this post before, but the message board problems ate it up (along with the rest of the thread.) Here it is again, because I think it's good info. Here's the compatibility chart in question.

www.matrox.com/videoweb/support/rt2000/rec/1394_devices21.htm

Here's my post that got screwed up!

I just called Matrox yesterday asking about this exact concern...the "frame accurate only for 30 seconds"

I'm getting ready to upgrade my video set-up (I'm basically a novice pro-sumer), and will be considering the RT-2000 rig. (Also considering the Pinnacle DV500). I've been shopping for a new digital cam-corder to go with the PC set-up, so I took note of all those "30 second" accuracy limit notes on Matrox's page. That really limited the choices of Digial Camcorders that appeared to work properly. I was bummed. However, I didn't know what Matrox really meany by "frame accuracy."

The guy at Matrox explained that they put that list up pretty hastily because of interest and demand, and admitted that they didn't really explain very well what everything means. (They plan to fix that shortly.)

The "frame accuracy" isn't really a big deal. What he told me, was that when doing batch recording sessions (longer than 30 seconds for the * cases noted), there may be a few (he mentioned about 4) extra frames added to the end of the capture. (It doesn't stop *exactly* where it's suppossed to.) Starting is typically "spot on" though.

This is no big deal to me at all, and I suspect not a concern for most others either. Hell, I'm used to analog capturing where I'm always trimming the begging and ending of clips anyway. This issue certainly won't prevent me from getting a cam-corder where the only "problem" is the sync after 30 seconds issue. So I may have to trim a few frames at the end of a capture.