since I bought the following system:
    Aopen HQ45
    ABIT KA7
    Matrox G400max 32mb dh
    SB live
    Compex Fredomline (100mbits)
    WD 20,4 gb hd
    52x cd-rom

I've had lots of problems. One of them is still not solved. The computer crashes every now and then. I've tried newest VIA drivers(422 and 4.03 AGP), newest G400 drivers (552.014). I've even flashed my MoBo BIOS to the latest (RX) release. Now, if I reboot win98se, the computer cannot find a free irq for the matrox card. If I then change and apply something in the properties of the display and reboot then the card is recognized. Next time restarting, the computer has the same problem. It's by the way nothing to do with pci addresses, but some memory addresses are double set or something.

Right now, everything inside my head is tumbling. I'm not an expert on all these things, though I'm trying hard to understand it. I'm wondering, could it just be that my MoBo is faulty and that it needs to be replaced? Or is it something else, to be set with BIOS or drivers etc.?

Thank you for replying,

Adriaan

Make sure "assign IRQ to VGA" is enabled in your motherboard's BIOS. Your AGP card should have its own IRQ (sharing *only* with IRQ Holder for PCI Steering") and it should be on IRQ 9, 10, or 11.

Paul
    paulcs@flashcom.net

Comment

Card is on IRQ 10, with only the ACPI IRQ holder for PCI steering, so that should be ok.... Thanks for replying.

Comment