Win2k reboots after loading drivers?!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Win2k reboots after loading drivers?!

Well, I just got my new ASUS K7V motherboard, and decided to do a fresh reload of Windows 2000. W2K had worked fine with my previous board, a K7M, (I like ASUS, what can I say?) But I only used it for a couple of days before the new board got here. Anyway, everything goes fine during installation. Then I load the Win2k drivers for the Matrox card. I reboot, and Windows starts choking and wretching at that point, refusing to load the GUI. I get the splash screen, and the status bar goes all the way to the end, then the screen goes black and it reboots my machine. I can work fine in VGA mode, but it's pretty ugly. Anyone know what the problem might be? I had it working for a couple reboots by installing the 5.03 drivers from VGA mode, but then I installed DirectCD and rebooted, and it killed me again. I'm an A+ Certified tech, so I've tried the usual stuff to no avail. The card's alone on IRQ 11. AGP Aperture set to 128. AGP filter driver is installed.

I've resorted to a dual-boot system with Win98 and Win2K, so I can keep fraggin' away while I figure this out, but it's killin' me nonetheless. Any suggestions?

My system:
    ASUS K7V
    AMD Athlon 650MHz - not overclocked (yet)
    128MB Infineon PC133
    Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 13.6GB ATA66
    Generic CD-ROM (Sounds like a rc airplane)
    Plextor Plexwriter 8x4x32x CD-RW (sweeet)
    onboard sound (blech, but w2k can't do A3D)
    Matrox G400 32MB DH
    3Com 3C900B 10/100 NIC

Hi!

You have a Motherboard with a other chipset, but is evenso a VIA and I think you have the same problem like me and other users.

I have possibly posted a solution at the Matrox forum for your problem:
    http://forum.matrox.com/mgaforum/For...ML/000377.html

Please wrote me if it works on your system !

Neubi

------------------

Comment