Help with install of new driver

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with install of new driver

I had installed the G-400 card on my AMD 350 system last fall, the driver is version 4.11.01, with Direct X ver 6.1. I started playing Unreal Tournament, and thought the game was slow and looked crappy. So I thought I would download the latest certified driver (5.20.013)and then update my Direct X to version 7. I downloaded the new driver into a seperate folder, and using the uninstaller on the Matrox CD I deleted the old drivers. But I could not get the new drivers to install. I would run the setup.exe file, and it would ask me what language, then the product to update, then it would say the new drivers were installed and I need to reboot, but everytime I did this it was obvious that it did not install the new driver, I finally gave up and ran the reinstall off the Matrox CD and put the system back to where it was, but even that took about 3 trys before it installed. What am I doing wrong? Can I just forget about the new drivers and just update direct X? I also updated UT from version 400 to 413, and that made no difference. If anyone can make any suggestions it would really be appreciated. Thanks.

The certified drivers are by no means new. They are actually quite old, buggy, and slow. If I were you, I'd uninstall the shipping drivers, which may be older and buggier, and try Powerdesk 5.41 or 5.30.

I understand the 413 UT update has its share of bugs as well.

I doubt you're going to see dramatic speed differences from driver set to driver set, although anything has to be better than the certified and shipping drivers. (I assume you are using PD 5.11 and not 4.11) The G400 off-loads a lot of work to the CPU. This is great if you upgrade a lot and you're running fast PIII's or Althons. It's not so great if you're running a slow CPU on a slow platform.

You can get the 5.41 drivers here:

http://www.murc.ws/Driver/Win9x/PD5/w9x_541.exe