PDA

View Full Version : How do I set one IRQ to Marvel G200?



John Russell
31st March 2000, 02:55
I have been unable to upgrade my drivers since 4.11 due to freezing etc.,

Having read this list back a few days it seems many are suffering from the same kind of problem and the answer generally seems to be to make sure that the Matrox card has its own IRQ.

The problem is my Mobo won't allow the setting of individual irq's the closest it gets is Auto which 'minimises' irq sharing.

How can I get my card onto irq 11 on it's own?

Here is my IRQ list:

0 System timer
1 Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
2 Programmable interrupt controller
3 Communications Port (COM2)
4 Communications Port (COM1)
5 Creative SB16 Emulation
6 Standard Floppy Disk Controller
7 Printer Port (LPT1)
8 System CMOS/real time clock
9 3Com EtherLink PCI TPO NIC (3C900B-TPO)
9 AdvanSys PCI SCSI Host Adapter
9 Creative Sound Blaster AudioPCI 64V
9 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
9 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
9 SCI IRQ used by ACPI bus
10 YAMAHA DS2416 Sound System
10 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
11 Creative SB Live!
11 Matrox Marvel G200 AGP
11 Emagic Audiowerk2, Audiowerk8 (WDM)
11 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
12 PS/2 Compatible Mouse Port
13 Numeric data processor
14 Primary IDE controller (dual fifo)
14 Intel 82371AB/EB PCI Bus Master IDE Controller
15 Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo)
15 Intel 82371AB/EB PCI Bus Master IDE Controller

Any help gratefully received.

Regards,

John

------------------
John Russell
johnrussell@quantise.net

Jord
31st March 2000, 06:10
4 soundcards?? I think there's 5, if you include the Audiowerk things...

But let me ask John a question: Do you actually use both the IDE controllers and the SCSI??

If you only use SCSI, then disable the IDE controllers through BIOS and Windows...

But 4 to 5 soundcards in one PC looks like overkill...

Jorden.

Kruzin
31st March 2000, 10:28
I gotta go with these guys.
What in the world are you doing with all of those sound cards??
Surely you can consolidate somewhere.
I work on a sound system pc a guy in my town uses in his proffesional recording studio, and he manages to get by with one sound card and a midi interface card.

Alegria
31st March 2000, 15:30
Looks like you have too many PCI devices in your machine that need an interrupt. I assume you need the Audiowerk to do the harddisk recording stuff. What do you need the SB64 for? And the additional Yamaha stuff? Is it just for wavetable synth purposes. At least you should disable the SB16 emulation to free IRQ5 or get a new driver that allows sharing the emulation's interrupt with the primary printer port on IRQ7. Leave the PCI slot next to the marvel open (PCI1) as most mobos share it with the AGP slot. If you need USB leave it enabled, if you don't, try to disable it. If you need the IDE stuff leave it enabled if, you don't, disable both channels ( if you have a SCSI-only system. Remember though that there are only 4 PCI interrupts mappable to ISA interrupts before sharing has to be done by the system. This INCLUDES the AGP interrupt.
Try to swap cards in your system to different slots as some devices work with shared interrupts while others don't like shared interrupts.
There's so much to try at first glance.

Regards, Alegria



------------------
The pump don't work, 'cause the vandals took the handle...
Bob Dylan

Alegria
31st March 2000, 15:35
Reread the list. 4 Soundcards? USB already disabled. Nothing will keep this system from sharing except taking cards out.

Alegria

------------------
The pump don't work, 'cause the vandals took the handle...
Bob Dylan

John Russell
1st April 2000, 02:08
Ok Guys,

An explanation on the sound card front!

The PCI64 came with the Gateway machine and I don't use it at all. It's not in a PCI slot and I haven't figured out where it is on the mobo. I need to trace it's cabling back and whip it out!!

I'm a betatester for Emagic's Logic Audio and I use the other three cards in the line of duty.. The AW8 is Emagic's own multitrack HD recording system, the Yamaha DS2416 has on board FX and works alongside the AW8 within Logic. The SBLive is about using and testing soundfonts also in Logic.

So that's why there are loads of soundcards.

Also, I do use scsi drives and IDE drives together. The SCSI drives are for audio and video files.

Now!

I've been juggling with the settings in Device Manager and found a system device called PCI Bus. Within it there is an option to turn of PCI steering which I did just to see what would happen.

When the system rebooted, the IRQ's had been juggled and the G200 Marvel came up on IRQ9, but still with the ethernet card and the SCSi card.

I thought I'd give the most recent drivers a whirl again to see what would happen. Lo and behold, The whole thing worked this time. No freezes or anything. So either the G200 doesn't like IRQ11 on this machine or it is happier to coexist with the other residents of IRQ9 or there's another reason.

Here is the current breakdown of IRQ allocation:

0 System timer
1 Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
2 Programmable interrupt controller
3 Communications Port (COM2)
4 Communications Port (COM1)
5 Creative SB16 Emulation
6 Standard Floppy Disk Controller
7 Printer Port (LPT1)
8 System CMOS/real time clock
9 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
9 3Com EtherLink PCI TPO NIC (3C900B-TPO)
9 Matrox Marvel G200 AGP - English
9 AdvanSys PCI SCSI Host Adapter
9 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
9 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
9 SCI IRQ used by ACPI bus
10 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
10 YAMAHA DS2416 Sound System
10 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
11 Creative SB Live!
11 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
11 Emagic Audiowerk2, Audiowerk8 (WDM)
11 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
12 PS/2 Compatible Mouse Port
13 Numeric data processor
14 Primary IDE controller (dual fifo)
14 Intel 82371AB/EB PCI Bus Master IDE Controller
15 Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo)
15 Intel 82371AB/EB PCI Bus Master IDE Controller

Thanks for all your helpful comments. it was this group that got me pointed in the right direction.

One last thing, even though powerdesk is now version 5.21.017, the display driver is 4.11.01.2210. Is this right?

Doesn't the diplay driver get updated along with Powerdesk?

Many thanks,

John

------------------
John Russell
johnrussell@quantise.net

John Russell
1st April 2000, 05:18
Whoops! Just noticed I wasn't quite up on the latest drivers.

I've now updated to Powerdesk 5.41.008 with display driver 4.11.01.2410

Same question. is this the most up to date display driver for the Marvel G200?

Regards,

John


------------------
John Russell
johnrussell@quantise.net

Kruzin
1st April 2000, 09:13
When we speak of drivers, we reffer to the PD version, not the driver file version. 5.41 is the latest approved for Marvel+VidTools, but some people do use 5.52 on theirs.