Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

DV500 here and working AS ASVERTISED!!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DV500 here and working AS ASVERTISED!!!!

I just recieved my DV500 yesterday and spent the entire night exploring its editing capabilities and stability. I must say, for 1.0 drivers and so many features, I am damn impressed. I've been using these prosumer cards since the Miro DC1 (7 years ago) and I've never had an out of the box experience this fulfilling. Overlay plays back perfectly smooth, even during capture and works with multimonitor enabled (on the primary monitor). Stretching Premiere across my 2 screen makes the editing experience much more akin to the AVID, which I prefer above all things (my work won't let us use the AVID for personal projects, hence this purchase). The playback is realtime with realtime wipes and dissolves via analog preview. Instant video works beautifully to render the effects for output to DV off the timeline. I have no problem outputting straight cuts-only edits right off the timeline to my digital 8 camcorder via firewire. Rendering of effects is very fast; your average 1 sec dissolve took less than 10 secs (horribly rough and probably long estimate). The DVtools DV capture and logging software is quite feature complete and works great, there is onscreen playback of the DV video through firewire without any audio lag (software based cards tend to lag in their display except the raptor's passthrough of course). Titles from premiere and titledeko, which really is an excellent titler, displayed in realtime though not over and additional effect (similar to AVID Xpress) multiple effects required rendering. MPEG2 export was accelerated and the export directly off the timeline. I'm not sure what else to say. I have yet to get it to work under 2000 (using it in 98se) but have not put any effort into that installation. 98 installation went without incident. I'm out of things to say. So far so good. Any q