kruzin, lets talk trillinear

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• kruzin, lets talk trillinear

Hi there. I am old nvidia user (TNT), now I have G400 and I am extremly happy with it.
    Except for trillinear filtering. My old TNT did it with almost no performance hit (Q3). Since trillinear much improve picture quality, especially in Q3, I would like to use it on my card. I use 800*600*32 with texture slider on max and I got 44 fps. Trillinear filtering takes about 30% of speed. My oppinion is that below 40 FPS is unplayable.
    Recently I read that TNT(2) does fake trillinear with dihtering, so that is why it has no performance loss. I have to addmit that I never notice that, although I am sensitive about picture quality. My question is: why matrox doesnt do something like that?
    If they refuse to do it because of picture quality drop, I would like to see that as an driver option or perhaps reg hack.
    Sorry if my question is stupid, because I have no knowledge about driver programming at all.

Not exactly Kruzin here, but I think I can coment a bit.

I tend to agree with you that option (trilinear dithering) would be of some interest to some. After all it´s a compromise between image quality and speed. My doubt is if the G400 suports it in hardware.

But I cant agree when you say you can´t see the dithering between the mipmap boundaries with trilinear dithering. The real thing looks even worse that in a screenshot, it seems like static in pre-defined screen zones.

I prefer the real trilinear filtering any day.

Comment

What can I say? Matrox decided to do it properly. I doubt they would do it any other way at this point, just for the benefit of a few fps.
      Core2 Duo E7500 2.93, Asus P5Q Pro Turbo, 4gig 1066 DDR2, 1gig Asus ENGTS250, SB X-Fi Gamer ,WD Caviar Black 1tb, Plextor PX-880SA, Dual Samsung 2494s

Comment