PDA

View Full Version : New G400 W2K drivers !



Olivier
10th February 2000, 12:59
Go download !!!

I'm downloading now...

Olivier

mojomofo
10th February 2000, 13:02
Thanks for posting!
Downloading soon!


------------------
Abit BP6 with 2 Celeron 366@550mhz with only 2.0V
Matrox G400 DH 32MB @ Max clock rates
Sound Blaster Live!
Hauppauge WinTV
Intel EtherExpress PRO/100+
Tekram U2W SCSI
IBM UltraStar 18ES LVD HD
Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM
IOMega ZIP
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer USB
Monorail keyboard
Panasonic PanaFlat PF70

Ad B
10th February 2000, 13:11
Where from? Matrox still only have the beta drivers for download.

Olivier
10th February 2000, 13:16
Go to the Matrox web site, yes it's still beta drivers, but new beta !

Ad B
10th February 2000, 13:23
I'm downloading them, but the site says they're still the same old beta.

Guyver
10th February 2000, 13:27
Refresh your browser then, cause they are the new 5.01 beta drivers released Feb 10th as opposed to the old 5.00 drivers...

Good call...

Guyv!

mojomofo
10th February 2000, 13:27
Here is the oddball thing about the driver location on the FTP site.. it's in the archive section! That threw me for a loop because I always check the FTP site first (real men use wget, ;-) )



------------------
Abit BP6 with 2 Celeron 366@550mhz with only 2.0V
Matrox G400 DH 32MB @ Max clock rates
Sound Blaster Live!
Hauppauge WinTV
Intel EtherExpress PRO/100+
Tekram U2W SCSI
IBM UltraStar 18ES LVD HD
Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM
IOMega ZIP
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer USB
Monorail keyboard
Panasonic PanaFlat PF70

Guyver
10th February 2000, 13:30
http://www.matrox.com/mga/drivers/files/w2k_501.htm

Enjoy! Guyv

Chasbo
10th February 2000, 13:51
I'm brave and installed the drivers (G200 and W2K). No problems so far, but it has only been about 20 minutes.

Chuck

Olivier
10th February 2000, 13:51
Good, now i can run OpenGL without any problems, even Unreal Tournament works fine in OpenGL !
No more crash in 32bits mode + Easy CD Creator
I can overclock more my G400 Max...
Thanks to Matrox.

mojomofo
10th February 2000, 14:20
How bout dem apples!? http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif
This is with a new install without any reg. hacks (yet)


http://home.wmis.net/~bluestth/TD6-PD5-W2k-nonOC.jpg




------------------
Abit BP6 with 2 Celeron 366@550mhz with only 2.0V
Matrox G400 DH 32MB @ Max clock rates
Sound Blaster Live!
Hauppauge WinTV
Intel EtherExpress PRO/100+
Tekram U2W SCSI
IBM UltraStar 18ES LVD HD
Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM
IOMega ZIP
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer USB
Monorail keyboard
Panasonic PanaFlat PF70

Scytale
10th February 2000, 14:33
They don't work well for me. I get kicked out of UT when I launch a (local) map... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/icons/icon8.gif

[This message has been edited by Scytale (edited 10 February 2000).]

Scytale
10th February 2000, 14:50
Correction: not all maps crash, but DM-UTCP_SilentSands does (always, and with or without User.FlipOnVBlank/User.TripleBuffer registry settings).

dwright
10th February 2000, 16:13
New win2000 work for me so far. I tested with 3dmark2000 and it ran through completely for the first time in Win2000. The only test skipped was the agp 64meg test which failed because it claimed there was not enough agp memory (there is enough with win98se).
The results 3002 for the standard test. Specs: P500e at 667, 256meg, G400max, Asus P3B-F @133fsb, win2000(2195).

dwright
10th February 2000, 16:52
Two more tests FS2000 is ok at 25 (airport) to 100 (sky) fps at night in Chicago.
QIII runs better now the title screen is not corrupt, the mouse can now navigate the menus, and fps has increased. Demo1 and 2 gave me 38 fps at 1024*768, 16bit colour, and bilinear filtering.
My opinion is that these win2000 drivers deliver a big improvement.

LuckyG
10th February 2000, 16:52
In the previous drivers, HotKey centerWINDOW command caused Display One to become totally corrupted.

The good news: No more corruption in these drivers.

The bad news: The centerWINDOW command doesn't work.But it centers the Mouse Pointer real good.

------------------
=========================
ABIT BP6, Dual Celeron 466's @525Mhz
single stick of Kingston ECC registered PC100 256MB RAM
Dual IBM C-71 17" monitors
Matrox G400Max
Seagate Cheetah 10k 9.1gb SCSI U2W drive
Adaptec 2940U2W SCSI Controller
Maxtor 20 GB 7.2k UDMA66 IDE drive
Plextor Ultraplex 40max SCSI CD player
Seagate Scorpion SCSI DAT drive
Creative SB AWE32 / LinkSys NIC / 300 watt power supply
12 fans (including three stacked Nidek Blowers) / assorted external SCSI stuff.........
Win2K Final Release/WinNT4 SP6/WIN98/DOS 6.22

PaulS
10th February 2000, 21:46
G200 support seems to have improved too. G400 works well with the uniprocessor HAL, but switching to dual processor they are even more unreliable than the first beta, garbled textures, random freezes etc. Anyone know if Matrox actually has a dual or quad processor system in house? Not asking for any overclocked SMP celeron box, just a nice stable dual slot 1 configuration with all components on the HCL.

Paul.

Positiv
10th February 2000, 22:00
I agree.
I have not tried uniprocessor stability, but I have to say that my SMP system freezes much more with the latest beta drivers.
Photoshop crashes to start.
Quake III freezes afters seconds.

I really need a SMP capable driver.
I know that the ATI drivers for lots of their boards are included on the win2k CD and are SMP optimized.

Matrox I know you can do it !!!!!!!

FRED

Brama
11th February 2000, 03:33
Here new drivers don't work with win2k RC2.

Sigh...

LuckyG
11th February 2000, 05:03
Positiv:


The new beta seems to work just fine on my overclocked Celeron SMP system under Win2K.


No problems at all with Photoshop 5.5. No random freezes or garbled screens.


Maybe you need to overclock...... ;-)

Olivier
11th February 2000, 05:31
Yeah !
Now i've got good image quality with PowerDVD v2.55, no more crash when using the zoom button, thanks again Matrox !

Brama
11th February 2000, 06:33
Gurm, Win2k is out not all over the world.
Here I have to wait until feb 17th.

Second, it is not a rule that new drivers have not to work in beta OS...

Bye,

Ad B
11th February 2000, 07:43
I see now, thanks! I hope this solves at least some of my problems.

APV
11th February 2000, 08:26
PaulS, I agree with you on that Both ATI and Nivida W2K drivers has better SMP support than Matrox W2K drivers but for your case, I don't think it is the driver. I have discovered that W2K is less overclock friendly than W98 or NT4.0, at least for me. I can do W98 with default voltage stable, NT4 4.0 need 2.05v, now W2K need 2.1v to be stable.

Abit BP6 dual 366@550 Switching to G400 from TNT2 due to the fact G400 is the best D3D card around and W2K now support Direct X 7

Scout255
11th February 2000, 10:07
Can someone please tell me this: With these drivers, how the heck do you change the darned refresh rates in games?
Its getting raelly hard to play for more than a few minutes.

Gurm
11th February 2000, 10:12
Scout255:

Change to 640x480. Manually set the refresh rate, then change back to 1024 or whatever you use. Then, when you play the game it will use that refresh rate. If you still have troubles, run powerstrip (it's shareware!) and you get FULL control until such time as Matrox finishes the drivers.

Brama:

It _IS_ a rule that new drivers don't work with RC2. Microsoft changed the driver model, which required certain changes which resulted in incompatibilities. That's just the way things work... and if you are a legal owner of RC2, you can get final by now... wait, don't tell me... you aren't a legal owner of RC2?

- Gurm

------------------
Listen up, you primitive screwheads! See this? This is my BOOMSTICK! Etc. etc.

Gurm
11th February 2000, 16:45
Brama:

Not to sound insulting, but... duh?

Since Win2k is commercially available why would the drivers still work with an old beta?

- Gurm

Scout255
11th February 2000, 17:41
Gurm: How do you manually set the refresh rate for opengl ing 640X480??
Also, powerstip is a horible program for it.
I got it all working, but when i use it to up the refresh to 75 in games, the monitor looks like its behind a panel of disturbed water (it looks like its floating) both in d3d and opengl. Its really annoying and i cann't use it.

Gurm
13th February 2000, 08:27
Scout:

Put your machine (desktop) into 640x480x16bpp (or whatever color depth the game uses). Then set the refresh rate manually.

Then, go back to 1024x768 (or whatever you were in before). Now when you play the game it uses the refresh rate you chose.

- Gurm

------------------
Listen up, you primitive screwheads! See this? This is my BOOMSTICK! Etc. etc.