PDA

View Full Version : Anyone tried 89MHZ AGP bus before?



neo
1st July 1999, 03:00
Has anyone used a Matrox card on an 89MHZ AGP bus? How does it react? Playable? Can it get 2x??

-neo


------------------
Asus P2B-F, 532MHZ Pentium II (4x133 at 2.4v), Global Win VEK12 hs/fan, 128MB Micron PC133, Maxtor 4GB, SB AWE 32, Creative DVD 2x, Mitsumi CDR 2x/8x, Sony Trinitron 17", Old Matrox Video Card, and a redhead with a pair of 36Cs (O/Ced to 38Cs)

stringy13
1st July 1999, 10:01
Yea, I went all the way upto 150Mhz FSB, but I lose AGP2x at 124Mhz, I even have to force AGP2x at that FSB... but with AGP1x I get to 150Mhz FSB and it runs like a charm....


Craig
P2B, 128Mb PC100, Millenium G200 16Mb SGRAM

bertrik
1st July 1999, 10:28
I'm running my Celeron-333 at 416 MHz (5 x 83 MHz) on a Chaintech 6BTM mainboard. My AGP bus is running at 83 MHz with a 1:1 divider.

I'm able to do AGP x2 without forcing it and my system's been working very stable for several months now.

neo
1st July 1999, 10:57
Thanks for your replies, it will be helpful in my current decision. By the way, does anyone have experience with the high AGP port speed on a (dare I say it) TNT2 card? With the recent delays I may be a waning customer that decides to go for a TNT2 for lack of a better option at this time. BTW, check out my new CPU speed in my profile. In the words of Austin Powers "yeah baby....yeah!"

-neo

------------------
Asus P2B-F, 532MHZ Pentium II (4x133 at 2.4v), Global Win VEK12 hs/fan, 128MB Micron PC133, Maxtor 4GB, SB AWE 32, Creative DVD 2x, Mitsumi CDR 2x/8x, Sony Trinitron 17", Old Matrox Video Card, and a redhead with a pair of 36Cs (O/Ced to 38Cs)

stringy13
1st July 1999, 11:55
Neo, I believe the TNT2 has the same problem with High AGP as the Matrox products, except more so, they don't test the buss and therefore Won't fall back... Many users on other Msg. boards have reported that even 124MhzFSB gave them problems till they disabled AGP2x... and there are those running it upto the 133Mhz FSB, but again, No AGP2x....


Craig
P2B, 128Mb PC100, PII333@434(124FSB), Matrox Milenium G200 16Mb SGRAM

neo
1st July 1999, 12:05
How significant is the jump from AGP 2x and 1x? From what I've heard the difference doesn't justify changing my FSB speed, epecially if I'm only going to be running 1024x768 on most games. I really like my 133MHZ FSB, it gives me a 33MHZ bus and is rock stable (prime95 for 7 hours). I'm pleased with the card just working so far out of spec, I didn't want to be forced to buy one of the evil voodoo3's!! http://forums.gagames.com/forums/smile.gif http://forums.gagames.com/forums/smile.gif

Many thanks!
-neo

------------------
Asus P2B-F, 532MHZ Pentium II (4x133 at 2.4v), Global Win VEK12 hs/fan, 128MB Micron PC133, Maxtor 4GB, SB AWE 32, Creative DVD 2x, Mitsumi CDR 2x/8x, Sony Trinitron 17", Old Matrox Video Card, and a redhead with a pair of 36Cs (O/Ced to 38Cs)

MaXi
9th February 2000, 09:03
When I use 133MHz and try to run 3DMark2000 the program crashes after 1 minute or so... What should I do in the bios? I'm running with 256MB AGP at 2/3 FSB.

Using a Abit BE6-II with PIII650@865

Stringy
9th February 2000, 09:33
Well what is your AGP running at??
3Dmark is quitte good for testing and stressing AGP (maybe all it is good for)

If you are running AGP2x then switch down to 1x, if you are already running 1x then try slowing down your Memory, to like CAS3 (if it was CAS2)

and if it still doesn't work, and if games do work then it might just be 3Dmark.. Or it could be your CPU not working perfectly at this speed...

You are up there in the O/C, so it could be the CPU, or even the Mobo, or Memory.. lots of things contribute to unstable O/C'ed systems http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/redface.gif)


Craig

MaXi
9th February 2000, 10:21
My AGP is running at 89MHz and my memory should be at CAS3 all of it... It's also 133MHz memory I've got installed.

Setting AGP to 1x? Is it done in Windows, with that reg hack? Or can that be done in the bios?

If I should take the next step down at clocking? What would be the next normal thing? 124? The great thing about running 133MHz is that I've set the PCI FSB to 1/4.

mkaresh
9th February 2000, 10:26
I've posted the same info in another thread...

I have a Soyo Sy6BA+IV. I've run botha vanilla and Max. Both are perfectly stable up to 92mhz. Above that up to 100mhz they lock up when 3dmark2000 is run, but are perfectly stable for 2d apps, like Office and AOL. I don't know whether the limit is the G400 or the BX chip set, but it's somewhere in the AGP bus.

Even at 150fsb I get 2x and sidebanding automatically. I'm not too eager to disable these. ANy way other than going into the registry? I generally run at 133fsb anyway.

One note: AGP speed appears to have no impact on the overclockability of the card itself.

MaXi
9th February 2000, 10:29
Where is that AGP 1/2 FSB when I need it!!! http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Stringy
9th February 2000, 10:47
Well to try and force AGP1x you have to use the Reg Hacks....
I've gotten my Card, as mentioned above upto the 100Mhz AGP bus level, I'm prolly pretty lucky and this is on a BX board so only 2/3 is avalible...

I would try the AGP1x and see what happens, I wouldn't rely on benchmarks too much, it's more important that the Games and Apps you run, run well...
IF AGP1x solves the problem and the system is completely stable, then find out if the switch down affects the apps you use... For me it doesn't effect me, but then again I run 124Mhz FSB as the norm..
434Mhz is better than the 375 150MhzFSB gives my P2-333... and I run the PCI at 41Mhz, runs great http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/redface.gif)


Good luck
Craig
BTW the Newer VIA Apolo Pro has the 1/2 AGP divider, but tests have shown that the Mobo's currently avalible are actually slower than BX boards....

MaXi
9th February 2000, 10:57
OK, thanks for the help, I'll try that AGP1x thing and if 3DMark2000 crashes again, but my games run, well fu.. that then http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

mkaresh
9th February 2000, 17:54
Update to my previous posts.

I had someone email me who had same CPU and MB, and he said he was stable at 96mhz.

I'd had lock-ups at 93 and 100, but I'd never tested 96, figuring if 93 doesn't work...

But I gave 96mhz a try anyway. Guess what, it's a lot more stable than 93 for some reason. But still not rock solid like 92 and under. At 96 it makes it through the various 3d benchmarks about 75% of the time.

I just ran through 3dmark2000 (3243), 3dmark99 max (7344), and 3d winmark (38.7)without a lock-up (default resolutions). This is with 2x and sideband enabled and my Max at 157.5/210 (higher produces some artifacts in 3dmark2000). So it's very close...

Which makes the usual 89 even more worry free.

[This message has been edited by mkaresh (edited 10 February 2000).]

[This message has been edited by mkaresh (edited 10 February 2000).]

MaXi
9th February 2000, 23:17
Did he use any special cooling or was it just the standard reatil heatsink? I CPU gets about 51 degress hot when I use it much.

OblivioN
10th February 2000, 10:22
My g400 max happily does 100mhz AGP if increase the I/O voltage to 3.5(default is 3.3 on my MB) and this is with agp x 2 and sidebanding enabled.

It does 100 with just agp x 1 at 3.3 I/O