G200 and new driver FIX!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• G200 and new driver FIX!

Ok, after someone (I forget who.. sorry) mentioned that it seems its not the actual drivers, but the new powerdesk that is the problem, I started playing around. I mentioned earlier that pdesk.exe was using a lot of cpu time and causing stuttering unless I terminated it.
    So, I installed the new G200 driver set with the v5.25 powerdesk. Pretty simple actually. Here's how:

Extract the 5.41 drivers to a directory, and also extract the stable drivers you are currently using to another directory. Now, copy all files that begin with PD (Powerdesk utility files) from the old driver directory to the 5.41 directory. There are around 20+ files to copy and overwrite the new ones. Then just do the normal matrox driver uninstal, and reboot. When windows detects new hardware, point it to the modified 5.41 directory, and it'll install your drivers and the older stable pdesk support files. One more reboot, and you've got a good pdesk and the spanky new 4.11.01.2410 G200.drv and vxd drivers.

In my case, I'm using powerdesk 5.25 with the 5.41 video drivers, and it works like a charm. Yeah, its a pain in the ass, but the new drivers look better, at least to me.

[This message has been edited by rylan (edited 03 December 1999).]

Might have to think about this one...why should I go to so much trouble when 5.30 works great on my Tyan BX.
    If the next driver release shows the same symptoms, might have to hack it like you did. My weary old G200 should not be this difficult to maintain.

Comment

Please submit the problem to Matrox:
      http://www.matrox.com/mga/tech_supp/...quest_form.htm

I did so yesterday morning and received an email stating they hadn't heard of the problem. I had sent them about 6 links to various MURC threads letting them know I'm not the only one.

Gotta have more G200 owners bitch so we can get a true fix...