This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My video is all "wibbly"...

Hi everyone, I'm new to the video forum, I think (?)

I've got a problem with video capture on my RRG/G400 setup. Everything appears to capture OK, but when I play back the MJPEG video it's all wibbly - it wibbles up and down, very fast, maybe at 25 or 50Hz, i'm not sure... It doesn't matter what i use as the source - the TV tuner, or S-Video from a camcorder or VHS deck, the effect is the same. Also, the wibbling is present on both the TV and the PC monitor. If I pause on the clip the wibbling ceases - also, strangely if I jump through single frames they same to be aligned OK; It is only continuous playback that shows the effect. Also, there is a second less severe kind of wibbling - when the video is paused, it shakes up and down, but this is less severe (and perhaps normal?) Again, this happens both on the TV and in the PV-VCR window.

The wibbling only happens at a vertical resolution of 576 lines (everything is OK at 288 lines). The framerate is always 25FPS, the encoding is MJPEG at highest quality. There never any dropped frames. Something else I have noticed is that the wibbling doesn't show in the PC-VCR window *if* the window as at x0.5 size, but it does happen at x1 and fullscreen. It also doesn't seem to happen if I use RGB instead of MJPEG - but then the resolutions available are much lower.

This is a real problem 'cos I need to capture 576 lines! The shaking is *very* severe, more than one line... makes me feel ill watching it. The effect is *always* present, on every recording, and for all of that recording. Any help would be great, I have given up on Matrox UK tech support - they are just terrible, awfull, no good at all I have read some other threads about jittering but they don't seem to be the same problem as mine (?)

Thanks alot everyone in advance,

Smiff