Tape 2 CD revisited (Dr. Mordrid ?)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tape 2 CD revisited (Dr. Mordrid ?)

Lets not forget the option of converting the clips to MPEG for storage on those CD's. Doing this in the 352x240 rez will allow about an hour per CD.
    Dr. Mordrid

Dr. Mordrid, could you go more in depth on this topic. I also have several hours on video tape that I would like to get onto CD-ROM at a res of @ 320X200. I would like these clips to be viewable to the largest audience possible as I want to give them to friends. I'm very new to the video aspect of computers and trying to find out as much as possible. Thanks!

try this one:
    http://paradigm.uor.edu/~harshman/vi...deoCD-FAQ.html

Comment

The URL doesn't work.
      I tried yesterday and today.
      Does the FAQ reside elsewhere?

Comment

I seem to have found another copy via AltaVista at:
        http://home.c2i.net/ruteng/computing...deoCD-FAQ.html

Comment

Try AVI2MPEG1, which is a DOS based freeware transcoder. Works well.

To jazz it up, you can use the A2MGUI windows interface.

Check http://www.mnsi.net/~jschlic1/avi2mpg1/

Comment

How is AVI2MPEG1 better than the MSP 5.2 output to MPEG?

Also, I tried to use the trial version of NTI CD-maker to burn a VideoCD, but it crashed both NT and Win95. I had to uninstall it.
            I guess I'll try to get Adaptec's Easy CD Creator.

Anybody out there actually burned a VideoCD?
            With what?
            Will it play back properly? Which players?

jeffw

Comment

Beware of Adaptec EZCD creator if you want videoCDs using the AVI2MPEG freeware.

Version 3.0 is said to work (although it has other problems if its your only CD burning app)

The 3.5 upgrade for some reason refuses to accept MPEGs made by AVI2MPEG. Unless this is fixed in EZCD 4.0, you may be wasting your money.