G200 probs, drivers maybe?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• G200 probs, drivers maybe?

Hey y'all, I'm a newbie so forgive me if I ask something stupid, I've been looking all over, but have yet to find an answer.

I have a customer who has the G200 AGP 8MB, that we then added the memory expansion to. It ran fine (using a Sceptre D17P monitor) in Win'98, 64MB RAM, Shuttle 661 motherboard, for a while.

Recently though, they've been complaining of graphics problems. I couldn't figure out what they were talking about, so I went to check out what exactly the problem was. They were working in Corel Photopaint (I think that's what it was). The weird thing was that the window containing the file they were working on was fine, but the surrounding area was all garbled. And not just garbled, but like the colorized static yuo'd see on a TV.

Now if I switch to a Standard VGA adaptor, it runs fine. Weird...

So, the next step I figured was updating the drivers. Did that, and it seemed to take care of the problem, at least initially. It came back a few days later.

We couldn't find anything wrong, and couldn't figure it out. So again today I went with the latest drivers, and this time things got WORSE! When I restarted w/the new drivers, any icon that you selected, the picture gets that scrambled thing again. Also, the Start button, as well as the Minimize/Maximize/Close buttons, and the left corner button are also all scrambled. All the other graphics seemed to draw fine...

So I reverted to a different driver, the G200 AGP dated 3-11-99. It got rid of the windows buttons being garbled, but it'll be a day or two till we find out if it cleared up the problems that they have in Corel PhotoPaint.