PDA

View Full Version : Quake 3 Arena: linux



nehalmistry
21st November 2000, 21:55
hi, i got quake 3 working in linux, surprisingly, and it was no walk in the park...

anyway, i am getting
25fps no action in windows
15fps no action in linux

i havent compiled the agpgart driver into the kernel? would that help me at all?

what else could i do to speed it up?

i know that there are very few of you running quake 3 in linux so any help is appreciated...


------------------
P5A-B AMD K6-266@300
Matrox Milleniumm G200 AGP (oh, lets party)
Creative SB Awe32 (a classic, superb card)
Realtek 8029A NIC Card
64meg Ram
Ali V agp chipset
ICQ UIN: 24730025

term
22nd November 2000, 05:46
What distro are you using? Upgrading your distro to redhat 7 or mandrake 7.2 might be a good idea.

I use mandrake 7.2 and get better performance in linux (running q3demo, that might make a difference) than I do in windows (running q3 full version)

Also, try increasing your swap partition size. I recommened 128 or 256. If you can spare the space, go for 256 megs of swap since you only have 64 physical ram.

nehalmistry
22nd November 2000, 08:58
well im using peanut linux and i doubt it makes a difference since it has all the latest libraries...

hmm.... well i swap windows on a file on a seperate partition, 160megs, and i use the whole partition for linux, which turns out to about 180megs.... which i think is more than enuf...

------------------
P5A-B AMD K6-266@300
Matrox Milleniumm G200 AGP (oh, lets party)
Creative SB Awe32 (a classic, superb card)
Realtek 8029A NIC Card
64meg Ram
Ali V agp chipset
ICQ UIN: 24730025

Wombat
22nd November 2000, 09:48
You haven't compiled the agpgart and mga modules yet? That's the only way I get any performance. My 3D rendering went from seconds/frame to 50-70 fps at 960x720 (down into the 30's with heavy action).
Those modules are a must, but 15fps sounds like a little high to NOT have them. When you're running the X server, type "lsmod" in a term, what does it say?

Arsa
22nd November 2000, 10:42
Do you see his CPU?
I remember I tried playing Q3 on K6-266 with Voodoo Bunshee... what a pain...

nehalmistry
22nd November 2000, 12:18
arsa: ur completely right, k6 CPU's are like the worst.... theoretically, im sure a P-Pro MMX running at 300mhz would run much faster than a k6...

=====
wombat: well the mga module is loaded... i added these lines to /etc/XF86Config

-----
Load "Module"
Load "glx.so"
EndSection
-----

off course its loaded, cos quake3 works, also when i shutdown X windows i see all these lines in console starting with [mga] which i didnt get before...

i didnt try the 'newagp' module cos u can only compile it into the kernel, but i tried the other one, 'agpgart', cos u can 'make' that as a module, but when i loaded that module i didnt see a difference in speed...


------------------
P5A-B AMD K6-266@300
Matrox Milleniumm G200 AGP (oh, lets party)
Creative SB Awe32 (a classic, superb card)
Realtek 8029A NIC Card
64meg Ram
Ali V agp chipset
ICQ UIN: 24730025

Wombat
22nd November 2000, 15:43
You still didn't give the "lsmod" output.

nehalmistry
22nd November 2000, 17:58
Nehal:~# lsmod
Module Size Used by
sb 6076 0
sb_lib 33308 0 [sb]
uart401 6244 0 [sb_lib]
Nehal:~#

----------
sorry i couldnt do it earlier, i was at school when i typed the previous reply...

[This message has been edited by nehalmistry (edited 23 November 2000).]

Wombat
22nd November 2000, 18:23
Odd, it doesn't look like you're using even agpgart, let alone the Matrox module. I haven't looked to see how well the Ali V is supported, though.

Although now it looks like you're using the Utah_GLX stuff (and XF3.3.6 I hope). I'm on the mailing list for that, and things seem good for Gx00's, but I'm using the DRI and mga modules for XF4, which are a different route I suppose.

With just the console running, I have:
Module Size Used by
agpgart 14564 0 (unused)
emu10k1 43436 0


If X were running, I'd have the mga module loaded (and my Visor uses the usb stuff, but that's not relevant). What kernel are you running?

------------------
MSI-6167 w/ Athlon 500@750 (thx Greebe!), 128MB Crucial PC133, G400MAX,SBLive!-MP3,Pioneer 10x DVD, Plextor 12/10/32A, a hard drive or two, and a Sony 420GS. Running RH7.0 (2.4.0-test8), and Win98 (when I have to).

[This message has been edited by Wombat (edited 23 November 2000).]

nehalmistry
22nd November 2000, 20:34
well just before i posted the lsmod output... i was using 2.2.17... then i tried out 2.4.0 .....

and what module are you talking about..... matroxfb? i tried that and it slowed it down like hell.....

or are you talking about a different X module....

------------------
P5A-B AMD K6-266@300
Matrox Milleniumm G200 AGP (oh, lets party)
Creative SB Awe32 (a classic, superb card)
Realtek 8029A NIC Card
64meg Ram
Ali V agp chipset
ICQ UIN: 24730025

[This message has been edited by nehalmistry (edited 23 November 2000).]

leech
26th November 2000, 05:25
The modules that need to be installed for DRI are of course agpgart and mga Although I don't have quake3 to try, I've been having a pain in the ass of trying to get Unreal Tournament to work. It always crashes my computer. I do know in X3.3.6 you just need the agpgart module loaded. Anyone know of a good 3D benchmark program for linux? so far I've just used gears from the mesa demos.

Leech

Wombat
26th November 2000, 11:19
No, not matroxfb, that's the frame buffer driver, and not what you want to use.

The AGPgart is what you need, and enable g400 support (and disable 3dfx)

Benchmark:
http://wwwvis.informatik.uni-stuttgart.de/machtest/

nehalmistry
26th November 2000, 12:50
ok... wombat... i figured out how to enable AGPgart but can u tell me how to enable g400 support... or tell me where i can find info on how to do it...

sorry... this is my first time playing a 3d game in linux..

------------------
P5A-B AMD K6-266@300
Matrox Milleniumm G200 AGP (oh, lets party)
Creative SB Awe32 (a classic, superb card)
Realtek 8029A NIC Card
64meg Ram
Ali V agp chipset
ICQ UIN: 24730025

Wombat
26th November 2000, 13:30
which kernel?

nehalmistry
26th November 2000, 13:57
most probably im going back to the 2.2.17 kernel... i dont wanna use an unstable kernel

------------------
P5A-B AMD K6-266@300
Matrox Milleniumm G200 AGP (oh, lets party)
Creative SB Awe32 (a classic, superb card)
Realtek 8029A NIC Card
64meg Ram
Ali V agp chipset
ICQ UIN: 24730025

jeneag
26th November 2000, 14:28
Originally posted by nehalmistry:
ok... wombat... i figured out how to enable AGPgart but can u tell me how to enable g400 support... or tell me where i can find info on how to do it...

sorry... this is my first time playing a 3d game in linux..
It seems im getting a black screen after compiling agp.. support in kernel. I've added a matrox support also, and compiling it now, Ill post result later.
BTW, Im having awesome perfomance, 1 frame per 5-7 seconds!



[This message has been edited by jeneag (edited 26 November 2000).]

Wombat
26th November 2000, 16:06
the 2.4 series is quite stable. I'm using test8 and it works great for me. Don't forget that 2.4 is going final in the coming month.

Also, I'd recommend 2.2.18 or higher if you wish to stay in the 2.2 kernels.

nehalmistry
26th November 2000, 17:35
wombat: ok... so how do i put the mga support u were talking about in 2.4? do i need a patch or is it already implemented in the kernel.... and in which section of the kernel config?

btw, if 2.4 is coming out? whats happening with 2.3 ... its gonna be scrapped or what?

=====

jeneag: obviously ur doing something wrong.... cos im getting almost playable rates.. and i have a crap-ass computer... also tha agp thingy isnt needed... but i am going to try it .... i think it might help a lot..

------------------
P5A-B AMD K6-266@300
Matrox Milleniumm G200 AGP (oh, lets party)
Creative SB Awe32 (a classic, superb card)
Realtek 8029A NIC Card
64meg Ram
Ali V agp chipset
ICQ UIN: 24730025

Wombat
26th November 2000, 22:42
The mga module is a checkbox right underneath the agpgart checkbox in 2.4. It should be in a submenu.

In the Linux world, only the even sub-numbers are stable: 2.0, 2.2, 2.4. the odd's are the development kernels, that mature into the real stuff. 2.3 became 2.4, etc. etc.

nehalmistry
26th November 2000, 23:20
ohhh..... i c.... 2.1 2.3 are dev.... i get it...
cos someone on irc said said that 2.2.17 was dev cos the 17 was odd.... obviously he made a mistake... didnt quite know where the 'odd' number was suppose to be to make it dev kernel...

anyway... thx for ur help wombat..... i'll keep u updated if i need help or somethin...

------------------
P5A-B AMD K6-266@300
Matrox Milleniumm G200 AGP (oh, lets party)
Creative SB Awe32 (a classic, superb card)
Realtek 8029A NIC Card
64meg Ram
Ali V agp chipset
ICQ UIN: 24730025

nehalmistry
27th November 2000, 23:55
well i compiled a new kernel with support for my agp chipset and the g200/g400 option (and disabling 3dfx)... im not exactly sure ... but there was very little change in speed in Quake 3 arena .... i guess i should wait for the drivers to mature (or for me to get a new computer.. whichever comes first.. http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif )
=====
also... i was very impressed with the kernel... i tried 2.4.0 test11 and it was excellent..... the first thing i noticed was the startup was super fast..... also, it has better support for PNP Isa devices... now i dont need isapnp utility anymore... it automatically detects the irq/dma/io/etc.... other improvements too in kernel... just check it out..

------------------
P5A-B AMD K6-266@300
Matrox Milleniumm G200 AGP (oh, lets party)
Creative SB Awe32 (a classic, superb card)
Realtek 8029A NIC Card
64meg Ram
Ali V agp chipset
ICQ UIN: 24730025

Wombat
28th November 2000, 01:26
What version of XFree are you using? If 3.3.6, you aren't getting the advantages that the new kernel offers. Switch to XF4.0.1 (NOT 4.0.2, a compatible Matrox driver isn't ready yet).

BryceMan
28th November 2000, 20:35
This is a bit off-topic. Nehalmistry, if you'd like an upgrade to your computer, you should look into getting a K6-III+. They're technically mobile chips, but they are available in limited quanitities around the 'net. I just got a K6-III+ 450 myself and it runs like a charm at 560 MHz (112x5). Since you have an Alladin 5 board, you should be able to pull it off. If you're interested, check out the socket7 board at http://www.amdzone.com. That seems to be a gathering place for K6-X+ upgraders.

nehalmistry
29th November 2000, 00:32
wombat: from http://utah-glx.sourceforge.net/
they said that 4.0 will NOT work... only 3.3.6....


------------------
P5A-B AMD K6-266@300
Matrox Milleniumm G200 AGP (oh, lets party)
Creative SB Awe32 (a classic, superb card)
Realtek 8029A NIC Card
64meg Ram
Ali V agp chipset
ICQ UIN: 24730025

Wombat
29th November 2000, 08:27
Yes, I'm well aware that glx and XF4 don't work together. However, if glx and 3.3.6 wasn't performing well, I was trying to get you to try XF4 (which uses DRI acceleration, NOT glx). DRI is only supported by the newer kernels that you're now using. That's what I use/test.

nehalmistry
29th November 2000, 09:31
oh ok... i see... so instead of using the glx module.... i should try out the DRI module...

so where can i get DRI for matrox g200? are there any precompiled versions out there?

------------------
P5A-B AMD K6-266@300
Matrox Milleniumm G200 AGP (oh, lets party)
Creative SB Awe32 (a classic, superb card)
Realtek 8029A NIC Card
64meg Ram
Ali V agp chipset
ICQ UIN: 24730025

Wombat
29th November 2000, 17:43
The mga module that (I hope) you compiled is what supports DRI.

nehalmistry
29th November 2000, 18:45
ok... do i still load the glx module?

and i set up xfree4.0 , how do i check to make sure 4.0 is running... is there a console command i can run?

------------------
P5A-B AMD K6-266@300
Matrox Milleniumm G200 AGP (oh, lets party)
Creative SB Awe32 (a classic, superb card)
Realtek 8029A NIC Card
64meg Ram
Ali V agp chipset
ICQ UIN: 24730025

Wombat
29th November 2000, 23:51
you can watch the output of X. Also, if you're using XF4 from RPM's, then do

rpm -qa | grep XFree

and make sure that you don't have any of the 3.3.6 installed.

Nope, no glx with XF4. Comment that line out.

nehalmistry
30th November 2000, 09:04
ok.... when i left the glx module on... it worked, yet when i turned it off.... i get error message something like "could not load OpenGL subsystem"

are you sure i dont need to do anything else other than the kernel to enable DRI

------------------
P5A-B AMD K6-266@300
Matrox Milleniumm G200 AGP (oh, lets party)
Creative SB Awe32 (a classic, superb card)
Realtek 8029A NIC Card
64meg Ram
Ali V agp chipset
ICQ UIN: 24730025