PDA

View Full Version : NFS Porsche: Crappy Framerates!! :-(



billko
3rd January 1997, 03:19
Maybe it's the car you're driving that's slow, not the game itself. http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

I know this is flame-bait for the Porsche lovers out there, but I couldn't help myself. Please... flame on! (haha - don't start a flame war on account of this ludicrous post.)

Bill

syntech
8th May 2000, 10:30
NFS Porsche runs like crap on my system:

Celeron 300A @ 400
128MB
G400 MAX

Tracks like "Schwarzwald" (I've the german version) are really a pain in the ass, even with _ALL_ settings set to minimum!! Can anybody help or advise? If not, I'll throw this ****ing CD out of the Window (even when I've paid about 50,- bucks for it!).

Please help!!! thx


I'm using the 5.52 drivers...


[This message has been edited by syntech (edited 08 May 2000).]

DarkSyd
8th May 2000, 11:50
I'm running Win2k with the 5.06 drivers, so we may not have the same problems...
I found that 800x600 ran really crappy, even with all of the detail at minimum. Things sped up a lot when I switched to 1024x768, and I could turn up some detail. Go figure.

DS

------------------
Windows2000 Pro, Cel 366@550 (monster FDP32...love it!) on Asus P2b (1011), 128MB PC133, OEM G400/16 (PD5.06), Fujitsu 5.25gb, Maxtor 4.3gb (oooh, check out the all those nifty round cables...), Diamond Fireport 40 SCSI, Pioneer DVD 303S DVD-ROM, Yamaha 4416s burner, MX300, Sycom 300va UPS, Grey Cat, Orange Cat (still MIA)

...currently working on the world's first C64 based parallel computing project

Sanjuro Makabe
8th May 2000, 12:27
Hi Syntech,
There is definetly something wrong, and I am thinking it is the bottleneck of the CPU...although you O/Ced your CPU to 400Mhz...it is still a bottleneck for your wonderful video card...I think I read somewhere that the G400Max needs something above 500Mhz...(correct me if I am wrong)...but from what you are telling me...even at minimal details...it still runs like crap...then it should be the CPU...I hope this helps...maybe you should consider a newer CPU?...

Try using PD5.30 as many ppl runs better with it...

I must say...Porsche Unleashed in very pretty and very realistic...you'll love it very much...so don't throw it away http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Sorry...hope this helps
San

P!!!550E @ 733Mhz
ASUS P3V4X 1004.01
128Mb PC100 C2 Ram
Matrox G400 Max PD5.30
Sblive!
Win98se

Sanjuro Makabe
8th May 2000, 12:28
Hi Syntech,
There is definetly something wrong, and I am thinking it is the bottleneck of the CPU...although you O/Ced your CPU to 400Mhz...it is still a bottleneck for your wonderful video card...I think I read somewhere that the G400Max needs something above 500Mhz...(correct me if I am wrong)...but from what you are telling me...even at minimal details...it still runs like crap...then it should be the CPU...I hope this helps...maybe you should consider a newer CPU?...

Try using PD5.30 as many ppl runs better with it...

I must say...Porsche Unleashed in very pretty and very realistic...you'll love it very much...so don't throw it away http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Sorry...hope this helps
San

P!!!550E @ 733Mhz
ASUS P3V4X 1004.01
128Mb PC100 C2 Ram
Matrox G400 Max PD5.30
Sblive!
Win98se

syntech
8th May 2000, 13:56
Ok, first I'll try running it at 1024/768 (hey, that sounds pretty weird to me ;-), and if that doesn't help, I'll try it with the older 5.30 drivers. I can only hope that those drivers won't affect my other games!?

Until that, thanx for your suggestions. I'll come back to you to tell you the results.

ParaKnowYa
8th May 2000, 14:07
I'm running the game @ 1024x768x32 with all visual features on and it runs good. I'm using the 5.53.017 drivers (this is NOT an official driver, mail me for info!!!). System is a 650MHz K7 with 256MB Ram but actually the game should work better on your system @ a lower res + some features turned off!

best regards
PKY www.paraknowya.de (http://www.paraknowya.de)

65z56
8th May 2000, 17:02
hy..
first i must say that my english is very sh** !
the track schwarzwald is running good on my mashine !
ok
i play NFSP in 1600*1200 ,all details and 32 bit ! all tracks are runing super .... but one track (NORMANY----> German Version) is running very crappy !!!! when i play the track in 640*480 its crappy again !
i have tested all drivers ! and everytime the same problem !
SYSTEM:
366@550 celeron
160MB RAM
ABIT BX6 rev.2
G400 MAX

Sanjuro Makabe
8th May 2000, 17:40
Hi ppl,
I usually run the game in 1280x1024...and it's great...but I find it performs even better at 1024x768. Instead of 640x480 try 1024x768 since G400s likes high res....hope this helps http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Muad'Dib
8th May 2000, 19:11
Damn, I need to get me a copy of this game. I LOVE PORSCHES!!! heehee

Dimitri

Velocity
8th May 2000, 20:28
Even in the english version, I had some hard slowdowns in the game- my machine

Athlon 650
256mb PC100
Matrox G400MAX
SBLive Xgamer

On some tracks, the game runs smooth as butter, but trackes like the ones mentioned don't run nearly as smooth. For you people with Celerons, I'm afraid that even when overclocked you aren't going to get great framerates because Celeron is simply not meant for gaming. Its like people that take a Honda Civic and rice it out with the exhaust, intake, all that stuff. Get a Celeron II, they will kick ass.

Sanjuro Makabe
8th May 2000, 21:41
Hi Velocity,
What res do you run the game at? coz I have the same problem as you, but when I changed the res to 1024x768 it's all good...hope this helps

Alf
9th May 2000, 03:17
65z56, you said that Porsche runs great with 1600x1200x32bit and everything on. With a 550MHz Celeron and a G400 max.

I don't know from which planet are you http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif but IT DOES NOT RUN SMOOTHLY AT 1600x1200! Smooth is NOT subjective since 60 FPS you see in the arcades is smooth. 30 FPS is nowhere near fluid and lifelike movement. Fact that is.

I play the crappy game with 1024x768 and with 16 bit color depth and it's still a pain in the arse. 250 kph feels like riding a 60 cc vespa over a highway. Very realistic and very lifelike. Not to mention smooth. Some tracks roll quite nicely but others DO NOT.

I'm using 700MHz P3 and a G400 max (Tried all the latest drivers).

GT98
9th May 2000, 06:10
from what the various game reviews have been saying about this game, NFS:PU is a very CPU instesive game. It relies more on a faster CPU then it does on a good video card. Does anyone know of a FPS counter in the game? I would like to compair my P3-450@558/G400Max combo vs my dads p3-500/TNT2 Ultra to see how much of a differnce there is between the the two,since it seems to run a hair better on his machine. On a side note Firing Squad ran into a problem with the game with The Gefarce drivers that where out on Nivida's web site. They had to use the "leaked" 5.19 drivers if I remember right.

Scott

ParaKnowYa
9th May 2000, 09:35
Alf: did you try the 5.53.017 drivers?! Let me know via mail please as I won't be here so often in future! Thanks! =)

Viper
9th May 2000, 21:07
I have a p3 550E@733, with a Marvle G200 16meg the game runs fine at 800x600, check the 2d res ur running, if ur running 1600x1200 in windows that could hinder ur 3dgaming!

impact
10th May 2000, 00:06
I have a Celeron 366@458, 64MB RAM, W98 and a G400. In 1024x768x32bpp every detail on high/highest (where possible) except car body/car reflections (these are on medium). I tested with the demo. When the race starts, with all cars on screen, smoke and dust, I get 25 fps, during the race the fps hover around 40+ (cca 45 with only one car on the screen). Not bad. I usually switch to 1280x1024x32bpp so that the ugly jaggies go completely away and it is still very playable except for the very first 10 secs of the race, where the fps drop to around 20.

This all is with the modified dll. (disabled the invisible-on-matrox-cards fog). With the fog enabled, there is no visual difference, but the fps are halved for me.

impact
10th May 2000, 00:08
Oh, forgot, one can measure the fps in almost any D3D game with the Fraps 1.2 fps counter. The link was posted here somewhere in this forum.

Alf
10th May 2000, 02:37
ParaKnowYa: yes I'm using the latest drivers (5.53) at the moment in Windows 98. In Windows 2000 there's also the latest driver kit in use. Still runs like shit. Well, with a V3 3000 the game is somewhat enjoyable.

cheers,

Alf

syntech
10th May 2000, 03:00
Impact:

Can you send me please this super-dll (or tell me where to get it)???

And yes, I've changed the res to 1024/768 and the game looks to run a BIT faster now, but still _all_ settings at minimum, except sound, which is at high. Oh well, even the HUD displays only the most important things, but rear-mirror is turned off. It makes not much fun playing this game, since the greatest plus are the visuals, but I can't really get 'em. The rest is so-la-la..... (and the game menu is the worst of all NFS games!!). But right now I'm still interested in this game.....

Guff
10th May 2000, 06:16
You wouldn't happen to have had NFS3 or 4 installed previously, have you? If so, do a dig around some of the older postings regarding registry changes to make the game run faster.

Mej se,
Guff

auguste
10th May 2000, 07:03
Hi all,
Having played the game as a multiplayer LAN as well as singleplayer I must agree with those who argue, that CPU speed is the limiting factor.
LAN game is faster than singleplayer. I guess because the CPU doesn't have to cntrol 7 non-player vehicles, when running MP.
I lay NFS Porsche at 800x600 which is fine on nearly all tracks (Schwarzwald is in the low fps end).
PIII 500
128
G400 DH (no overclocking)

------------------
Auguste

Jorden
10th May 2000, 08:20
GT98, impact's link is http://www.fraps.com/ http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Syntech, did you try to enable or disable the Z-buffer and triple buffer?

Check the FAQs & Archive (http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/Archives/Archive-000001/HTML/20000411-11-000018.html) for more on NFS.

Jorden.

impact
10th May 2000, 13:11
Everything about the dll file that needs to be changed can be found in this thread (http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/Forum4/HTML/003397.html).

If you can get the game to work right, you'll sure be impressed. Even the Geforce users that were saying that the game was s**t (cause geforces suck for any other game than Quake) are now (with better drivers)slowly realising that it is a bomb.

Velocity
10th May 2000, 20:31
Ok, got done reinstalling. The only track that is really a problem is Schwartzwald I'll list my system again-

Athlon 650
MSI 6167 Motherboard(no superbypass damnit!)
Matrox G400MAX
SBLive Xgamer
256mb PC133 Mushkin
Philips 17' 107s monitor (1152x864 @ 75hz)

I'm running the game at 1152x864x32bit, exactly the same as my desktop. The game runs playable on every track except Schwartzwald. When you enter the forest, its like the world comes to an end. Steady 10 or below fps. Rather pathetic. Tracks like Monte Carlo run awesome (40+ fps). I think that Matrox is being kicked right in the jimmy here. The card just cannot preform. Its only on one track, so another conclusion is that the developers at EA did a rush job with the track and left a few loose ends untied. You never know.

syntech
11th May 2000, 00:25
Jorden:
Where can I enable the Z-Buffer? What does it do? The tripple buffer I've enabled via registry hack....

Impact:
Thanx for this!!! Now I've switched back to 800x600, but I can run it with some details on!!!

BTW, thanx to all you guys for helping!! The game runs still not as expected, but better than before, so from that point of view it was a good idea to post here. Good work guys!

Another one: Are there more dll-hacks for other games, too?

Because I've problems with Unreal, too (not performance-wise.... I mean the visual quality... but that would require a new thread).

[This message has been edited by syntech (edited 11 May 2000).]

MURCer
15th May 2000, 11:40
up

mike_k
18th May 2000, 02:28
On my PC it's really more than 10fps faster in 1024x768x32 than in 800x600 or 640x480. I don't know how is this possible but it's true.


-----------------
Intel PIII-600
192 MB RAM
G400 32MB DualHead

impact
18th May 2000, 02:36
I know what you mean. Porsche does look still the same for the past 30 years. But they have paid EA enough to include them in the game.

I wonder what will come next.

And Porsche is really fast. In fact even I was astonished how fast it really is. The 911 turbo can outrun any Ferrari, Dodge or Aston Martin, actually the only car that it could not overcome in that particular test drive was a Jaguar XJ220 (but that car does have twin turbo engines). The 911 looks funny but drives very nice and fast.