Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Want to get a G400, but have to know how it performs in games...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Want to get a G400, but have to know how it performs in games...

I'm very new to this product but must admit that I heard a lot of good things from my friends (who never really tried out nay of this stuff yet!!!)
    I have a UltraTNT2 at the moment, but want to change it to something alse, which can take a FSB of 133 and higher.
    My TNT maxes out at 140 when playing Unreal Tourney.
    The G400 has a excellent reputation of being able to handle very high FSB with ease.
    So, how does it do in 3D gaming? As good as the Geforce, UltraTNT orr better or worse?

Thanks for the time in advance...

Patrick
    http://surf.to/patrick_helms

I've got a G400 MAX.

The image quality is second to none, both in 2D and 3D. Simply the best I've seen on any card.

Raw speed can't match the Geforce, but the difference is negligible on games like Q3A. My brother has virtually the same system as mine, but has a Creative Annihilator Geforce card. At 1024 x 768 32 bit colour everything on high (Vertex, bilinear) his runs Q3A at 43.5 fps, mine at 39.9 fps.
    At 640x480 with everything on low and at default colour depth, mine runs at 72 fps while his is 70 odd.

However, in Q2 the Geforce absolutely STOMPS on the MAX, with an average of 15 fps more than the G400 in every resolution. EG: demo1 at 1024x768. Mine runs at 70 fps, my brothers at 85.3 fps.

At 800x600 mine manages 83fps, but the Geforce runs at 115 fps!! I think maybe you can put this down to Matrox having to sort out drivers for Q2? I may be wrong though :0)

But the Geforce looks exactly like TNT2 (I owned the Guillemot Maxi Gamer Xentor 16mb TNT2 so I should know) and ain't as pretty as a Matrox G400. Where are the transform/ lighting games for the Geforce? By the time they arrive en masse I assume Matrox will have entered the T&L race.