PDA

View Full Version : Is Matrox G400 5.50.010 beta driver stable? Having problems...



antdude
16th February 2000, 19:54
Heya.

Is it worth to upgrade to the beta driver (5.50.010) from the last final version (5.41.008)? Once in awhile when I load up a game, computer seems to hard lock. This happens randomly.

For example, twice with UT, UT frozed after precaching. The music remained to play for 30 seconds and stops.

One time, Half-Life frozed while loading a level. Another time was when my OpenGL screen saver gave an Illegal Protection Fault at G400icd.dll. I was thinking all these problems were related to a video driver.

My system configuration:
Award Bios Intel Pentium II 300 Mhz (DFI P2XBL motherboard revision A -- 440BX 100 Mhz bus tower and Award BIOS, 128 MB of SDRAM (PC100), ATX Full Tower Case, 300W power supply, 2 ISA, 3 PCI, 1 AGP, 1 Shared
PCI/ISA Slot, 2 USB ports, 512K L2 cache, IBM P72 17" monitor (6556), Matrox Millenium G400 32 MB DualHead, Creative Labs Sound Blaster Live! Platinum, Toshiba DVD-ROM SD-M1212
6X/32X ATAPI/IDE CD-ROM drive, Plextor PleXWriter 4/2/20 CD-R/CD-RW PX-W4220T (SCSI), Diamond Fireport 40 PCI (SCSI-3), external USR 33600 Sportster Faxmodem (Model: 0413; Product Code: 000839-03), 6.4 GB
Quantum Fireball EIDE (6.4EX-A) hard drive, 3.1 GB Western Digital Caviar EIDE hard drive, a 2-buttons Logitech mouse, 3Com Fast EtherLink XL 10/100 Mb TX Ethernet NIC (3C905B-TX), Microsoft Windows 98 (disabled Active Desktop), RedHat Linux v5.1, two regular computer fans (CPU and normal) and 1 custom fan for 3Dfx card, and a HP DeskJet 560c printer. Running DirectX 7a and Yamaha Sondius XG SoftSynthesizer v1.0 for better MIDI in Windows 98.

Any ideas and suggestions? Thank you in advance for replies. http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

paulcs
16th February 2000, 20:33
It works pretty well on BX chipsets.

I'd recommend uninstalling the drivers, checking the registry for entries the Matrox Uninstaller didn't remove, install the standard VGA driver, and rerun the setup program in standard VGA mode.

Maybe you had a bad install.

Good luck.

Paul
paulcs@flashcom.net

antdude
16th February 2000, 22:16
Is it true that you should uninstall the old driver before installing the newer version? Does everyone do this or just upgrade over the existing version? I wonder if upgrading over the old version affected this problem. It shouldn't, right? I would hate to reconfigure everything after an uninstall http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif.

Thanks.

Maggi
17th February 2000, 01:06
Hi Antdude,

in your case you should definitely use the uninstaller, because you're about to switch from a DX6 based driver (5.41) to a DX7 based one (5.50) ...

It might work without using the uninstaller, but it is always good to get rid of all traces from previous drivers.

Snake-Eyes
17th February 2000, 05:20
I can second both Paul and Maggi on this one, antdude. I just installed the latest beta over the last beta, which had been running everything (..I've tried, anyway..) perfectly well. I did get a very slight performance boost, but now Q3A hangs after playing for a few minutes, with a repeating sound loop. I have a very strong suspicion that completely removing the drivers (including any miscellaneous registry entries that the uninstaller might miss), booting using the standard VGA driver, and then reinstalling, will probably take care of the problem.

------------------
Ace

TTCharon
17th February 2000, 05:39
I Agree! Totally!

To many problems are because of remains from previous drivers and/or settings.
Even though there might be a better reason for unstalling drivers when they support newer DX versions, it really doesn't matter.
YOU SHOULD DO IT ANYWAY!! and do it thoroughly (ie dir's, files, reg entries & misc. inifiles placed out of it's natural env.)

And this goes for just about anything you upgrade/replaces (Well, patches excluded!).

I'm sure that about 10% of all the bug-related postings here at this board, are because of people not following this 'rule'.

and yes ! It does take time, but in the end, it's well worth it. http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

------------------
Abit BH6, PII-333@416(5x83), 128mb MCT 8ns, G400MAX, SBLIVE, AHA 2940AU, WDC 4.3, WDC 6.4, IBM GXP34 20.5, Mitsumi FX40, Yamaha 4416S, Zyxel Prestige 100IH, 3Com 905B-TX On WIN98SE, DX 7.1, PD 5.41

antdude
17th February 2000, 07:39
Okay, I guess I will try that. Should I go to beta or use the last final version? Ugh, I hate reconfiguring http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif. Do I have to reinstall TurboGL drivers?


Thanks!

derah
17th February 2000, 10:16
Does the PDuninstal utility completely remove the 5.5* beta drivers or is it necessary to manually remove all traces?

------------------
ASUS P3BF 440BX MB,Intel PIII 500 Mhz, 128MB RAM,Fujitsu 13 GB HD, Creative 48X CDROM, Matrox G400 Max Bios 1.5.22, IRQ10, (ver 5.41), SB Live MP3+, IRQ5(ver 4.06.711) sound card with Liveware3.0, DX7.0, Linksys 16bit ethernet card for T1

antdude
17th February 2000, 10:26
derah: That is what I would like to know. I assume it does?

Look at the instructions if you had older drivers than 5.x: http://www.matrox.com/mga/tech_supp/faq/0004.htm
You have to do a manual uninstall. I am sure the uninstaller program does this for you.

Am I correct, people?

derah
17th February 2000, 10:43
The uninstaller is a great utility but does "warn" that it may not remove all vestiges of "newer" drivers. I have found it works well for 5.20 up to 5.41. The Matrox manual uninstall instructions are very detailed but do the newest betas have any unusually named files or *shudder* any unusual registry entires?

------------------
ASUS P3BF 440BX MB,Intel PIII 500 Mhz, 128MB RAM,Fujitsu 13 GB HD, Creative 48X CDROM, Matrox G400 Max Bios 1.5.22, IRQ10, (ver 5.41), SB Live MP3+, IRQ5(ver 4.06.711) sound card with Liveware3.0, DX7.0, Linksys 16bit ethernet card for T1

Snake-Eyes
17th February 2000, 12:42
I don't know if the uninstaller gets all the 5.50.xx files and registry entries or not, but I recommend using it, then double checking, just to be safe. Then try reinstalling. I'd go with the 5.50.010 drivers, but then, I'm using a P3, and for me these drivers are as fast or faster than the TurboGL most of the time.

------------------
Ace

antdude
17th February 2000, 12:48
How do I uninstall TurboGL drivers or is that automatic with the uninstaller program?

Thanks.

ParaKnowYa
17th February 2000, 14:26
Using the uninstaller can help so I'd propose you use it if there is enough time for the updating drivers procedure.

I've released a personal driver pack for G400 cards, small and easy to use. The pack includes the latest drivers which run stable for me (K7M system). Which does not mean they run bad on other systems so try em if you like. Win9x only! http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

regards
PKY

CannyOne
17th February 2000, 19:15
I just set the display back to standard VGA and ran the uninstaller. Then I ran the setup for the new beta. I've had no problems with this installation that could be blamed on the drivers. BTW, their performance in regular OpenGL is now very much improved! http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/icons/icon7.gif

antdude
17th February 2000, 19:36
Okay, I uninstalled, installed the lastest beta, and reconfigured. It looks good so far. Now, my TurboGL Manager says I didn't need to update TurboGL drivers for my games. Umm, am I supposed to get rid of these since I heard OpenGL is good?

I am confused!!!!!!!!! Thanks you in advance for replies. http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif

ParaKnowYa
18th February 2000, 02:08
In general you can uninstall the TurboGL drivers IF you are using Matrox' latest drivers 5.50.010. It seems they've implented some TurboGL code into the ICD which improved the speed!

paulcs
18th February 2000, 07:50
Matrox's uninstaller is not going to go looking through your game folders for the TurboGL file.

You can uninstall the TurboGL drivers with TurboGL Manager. I would have done this beforehand, but I suspect no harm is done. If you don't uninstall TurboGL from your game folders, you continue to use TurboGL.

Matrox drivers tend to begin with

g400 or
g200 or
mga

so they're easy to find if you decide to go looking for them.

I have seen the Uninstaller clear the registry of all Matrox entries and I have seen it leave a few in. It's best to do a search, particularly if you are having problems. (Remember, Matrox's tweak utility is a registered program, so if you don't uninstall it first, you will find references to Matrox in the registry after using the uninstaller.)

Paul
paulcs@flashcom.net

antdude
18th February 2000, 08:28
Paulcs, should I be using TurboGL for my HL, Quake2, Q3A, and UT with the lastest beta drivers?

I need some guidance. Thanks http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

ParaKnowYa
18th February 2000, 10:41
If they work for you I would use them as they still seem to be the fastest!

antdude
18th February 2000, 10:50
ParaKnowYa: Ah okay. I thought someone said the standard opengl drivers were faster and better than the TurboGL drivers. [shrug]

paulcs
18th February 2000, 11:34
I have found the new ICD (without TurboGL) to be faster than TurboGL, particularly at higher resolutions. If you like playing games at 1024x768, then I think you should at least try the new drivers without TurboGL and see if you like them.

You should not use TurboGL or the ICD for Unreal Tournament. You should use D3D, as the OpenGL implementation in UT is problematic (the manufacturer uses the word, "experimental"). If you are using D3D, then TurboGL or the ICD shouldn't make any difference at all. The fact that the new beta drivers support DirectX 7 might, however.

It's up to you, antdude. But if you don't like the new beta driver set, you can always uninstall them and reinstall PD 5.41 and TurboGL. Here are some of the benefits you might see:

Increased FPS in OpenGL games at higher resolutions.

DirectX 7 support

Fixes for System Shock2, the new Thief2 Demo and some other games

I have the 5.50.010 drivers installed on an extremely overclocked machine, running on a 129 MHz front side bus, and they appear very stable. Now, I don't use this machine for anything important, and I never overclock my primary system. However, I will probably install the new beta drivers on my primary system over the weekend.

What's the worse thing that could happen. If they mess up my machine, and I see no evidence that they will, I'll just uninstall them and go back to 5.41.

Again, if you intend to install the new beta drivers, run TurboGL Manager beforehand and have it remove the TurboGL files from your game folders.

Download and decompress (using Winzip if you like) the new drivers into their own directory.

I would uninstall the Matrox tweaking utility as well. Just reinstall it after you install the new drivers.

Run Matrox's uninstaller and reboot. When you return to Windows, you will be prompted to install new drivers.

Install the Standard VGA driver. Reboot. (When you get back into Windows in VGA mode, if you like, you can do a search for old drivers or registry entries.)

From Standard VGA mode, run the setup program in that new directory you made for the drivers. (Do not use the "inf" method.) The installation program will prompt you to reboot when it is finished.

Do not install TurboGL.

After you finish with your Windows display settings, run your games and see if you like the new drivers.

Paul
paulcs@flashcom.net

[This message has been edited by paulcs (edited 18 February 2000).]

antdude
18th February 2000, 11:40
Paul: I will try that idea. I will load up TurboGL manager and remove them. Umm, will I still be able to load my games after removing the TurboGL or will they reset back to software mode?

Thanks. http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

antdude
18th February 2000, 11:40
Hey people, has anyone noticed the beta driver is slower when playing back DVDs on WinDVD 2000, or am I just dreaming?

paulcs
18th February 2000, 14:39
In the absence of the TurboGL file, your games should use the ICD. You should be running in OpenGL. I suggest rebooting after TurboGL Manager removes the files. (When in doubt, reboot.) Open Quake3, go to Settings, and check to see what driver it is using. If it makes no mention of TurboGL, and everything looks fine, you're set.

I get the impression you have already installed the new betas. Is this true? (I just want to get an idea of where you are.)How are they working for you?

Paul
paulcs@flashcom.net

[This message has been edited by paulcs (edited 18 February 2000).]

antdude
18th February 2000, 15:17
Paulcs, I am using the lastest beta drivers right now (at home). No problems as far as I know. I did notice a little slowdown when playing DVD. I don't know if I am seeing things or not.

Games still work with TurboGL, but I will try to uninstall them with the manager program tonight.

antdude
18th February 2000, 17:44
Paulcs, I uninstalled the TurboGL drivers. I played Quake 2 and I got these annoying flickers on walls, ceilings, and floors. I remember this problem before TurboGL drivers existed. I put it back for Q2, and no more! I also noticed 2 FPS more with TurboGL drivers.

HL, UT, and Q3A seem to work. SOF has flicker problems, but I don't think there's a TurboGL for it yet.

Dunno how to fix Q2 and SOF. =(

paulcs
18th February 2000, 18:28
I haven't seen that particular problem in quite a while in Quake2. The old fix was to disable dynamic lights, which, incidently, should give you a nice speed boost. But if TurboGL is working for you in Q2, and the ICD is working for you elsewhere, we might want to leave well enough alone.

I don't know enough about SOF to be of much help.

Paul
paulcs@flashcom.net

antdude
18th February 2000, 18:42
Paulcs: Yeah, SOF uses Q2 engine, and I think it will need TurboGL fix. Turning off dynamic lights is no fun =).

Oh well.

ParaKnowYa
19th February 2000, 03:10
Well this is what I expected, there are some annoying problems with the ICD. Besides the newest ICD does not seem to like my K7 system but that's a different story.

AntDude: For SOF did you try to copy the OPENGL32.DLL (the TurboGL one) into the SFO game directory? It could be that this works and you won't need a special TurboGL release for SOF because it's Q2 engine based. Worth a try I'd say, I however do not yet own SOF nor a demo so I can't tell what the result looks like. This however will not damage anything, if it does not work, just delete the OPENGL32.DLL you copied into the game directory! =)

regards
PKY

antdude
19th February 2000, 15:15
Oh well, I copied Q2's opengl32.dll and it didn't work with SOF demo. It locked up http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/frown.gif.

ParaKnowYa
20th February 2000, 01:47
Hmmmmm... maybe the next TurboGL driver or the next ICD will work better for SOF! =)

Now I must get this game and do some testing...

antdude
20th February 2000, 02:03
Yeah, I had to reinstall TurboGL for Half-Life. I noticed small flickering textures and some text got really corrupted. TurboGL fixed that. Ugh.

ParaKnowYa
20th February 2000, 02:05
Well, I'd suggest you to use the TurboGL because of all these small problems until a final release is out.