Win2k FCS - first impressions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Win2k FCS - first impressions

Well, finally I got done downloading the -- what we know as -- final customer ship version of Win2k (I have a universal MSDN subscription).

The Good : UT ran absolutely fluid, comparable with Win98. I'm pleasantly surprised by that.

The weird : in 1152x864 (for some reason this is my favourite rez on my 20" Trinitron) it only allows 75Hz refresh (the other resolution have a full selection of refresh rates as they very well should)

The ugly : Right after startup, Adaptec Easy CD Creator 4.0 blue screens in G400D.DLL. This is not good.

pp

I think there may be problems with Adaptec EZ CD creator. In Win2k Pro when using EZ CD creator I get either get blue screen of death or EZ CD just hangs. Does anyone here have Win2k on EZ CD working?

xippo

Comment

I believe by people using a 16 bit desktop, according to other threads on this forum.

Comment

Yup, Hunsow got it - you must run in 16-bit mode in order to use EZ-CD Creator. If you turn off the stupid tray icon thinger you can probably get by with usually running in 32-bit and just switching to 16-bit when you want to burn a CD, but...

- Gurm

------------------
        Listen up, you primitive screwheads! See this? This is my BOOMSTICK! Etc. etc.
        The Internet - where men are men, women are men, and teenage girls are FBI agents!

I'm the least you could do
        If only life were as easy as you
        I'm the least you could do, oh yeah
        If only life were as easy as you
        I would still get screwed

Comment

What drivers are you using? I am also suffering from the 1152X864 75Hz refresh rate annoyance. Powerstrip to the rescue...

Jon
          My baby...

QDI Brilliant IV - Bios 2.0 Beta (Win2000 updates - email me if you want it!)
          2 Pentium III 500 MHz
          256 MB PC-100 SDRAM
          Matrox Millenium G200 8 MB SGRAM - Bios 2.6-20