Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Argh! g400 lockups... help!

this prob is still not solved :-(

Since my matrox didnt work with BUS mastering enabled on my old computer, I recently bought a complete new athlon500, 128 mb ram, microstar ms6167 mobo, soundblaster live 1024... I thought it should work now, but nope...
    Doesnt matter if i enable busmastering or not, sometimes the pc just locks up. the matrox "magic forest thing" techdemo halts during the load sequence. while playing a dvd, theres a lockup after 1-2 minutes... guess i'm a dumb newbie, but perhaps matrox is responsible for this. (kick me hard if not)
    please help...

gus

"don't hit the newbie!"

[This message has been edited by Gus (edited 16 January 2000).]

Have you tried if forcing AGP1X helps?
    P3@600 | Abit BH6 V1.01 NV | 256MB PC133 | G400MAX (EU,AGP2X) | Quantum Atlas 10K | Hitachi CDR-8330 | Diamond FirePort 40 | 3c905B-TX | TB Montego A3D(1) | IntelliMouse Explorer | Iiyama VisionMaster Pro 17 | Win2K/NT4

Comment

i finally fixed the dvd problem, i upgraded my matrox drivers to 5.5, dl'ed new sblive drivers and the new cinemaster program. now it works ok
      i also installed unreal tournament, but it locks up... i wasn't even started yet, the game was still in the (2d)mainmenu so it's not a 3d issue I guess.
      i don't know anything about AGP, plz explain! i'm willing to try antything that may work.. (except jumping out of the window several times maybe...)

gus

Comment

What kind of power supply do you have? Is it on the AMD approved list?

If you go to the MURC utilities downloads and grab the PD 5 registry hacks, one of them is forceagp1x.reg. If you install this and reboot, your agp will be running in 1X mode. It might be 1% slower in 3d stuff than if it were in agp 2x mode, but it has made 3d gaming more reliable in some situations.

Once you start up UT, it is always in 3d mode. It may look as if it is only 2d, but to the hardware it is in 3d mode.