X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Connection & Ping??

I get continuous connection drop outs and way
    high ping, usually +500, playing Q3A. Can't
    figure whats up. Zoom 56K/V.90 modem, usually hook up @ 49,333 or 50,666. Any thing I should know, settings, etc?? I am new at online gaming, so help me out. I just stand there and look like an idiot, or try to fight and look like a wuss.
    K7@750/128MB
    G400Max@110%OC/VSync Off
    This thing just smokes on single player, and I have everything set to Minimum for online, set like this it gets almost 100fps offline.
    Thanks for anything you can tell me, I'm tired of looking like chunks of guts.

a couple of things might help.

1. turn off compression for modem/and or tcp/ip networking.(personally I don't but it will certainly help ping times)

2.check MTU settings for (modem)networking (to large will slow your ping down).

3. Quake 3 has a setting in the autoexec.cfg(or console) to set the max fps, and transmission speed.

setting the transmisson speed for a 33k modem when using a 56k modem give a good ping(but you can adjust it up a bit).

Lowering the Max FPS during a modem game certainly helps my ping/connection.(less stuff transmitted and you get a more consistent ping/fps)

I connect at 45k and transmission speed set to about 38K and max FPS to 35FPS.

But I am only using a celery 450 with a g200@216.

PS If you have a krappy internal winmodem, that can cause hassles too, since high CPU usage may starve it of cpu time.

Comment

Also, try to find a "local" game prefereably on your local ISP, or LAN .

Comment

turn Vsync back on.
        turn vsync off only during benchmarking.

Vsynce gives you a better flicker free display with no tearing.
        I also find it gives smoother gameplay

Comment